We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed three nights at this beautiful inn during a trip to northern Minnesota. Perfect location to start a day trip up the North Shore road. Top notch B&B--Jim and Joy go that extra mile with all the little details to make your stay enjoyable. From the handmade welcome card, to the handmade petal soaps. And be ready to walk off your breakfasts, because you will get a delicious, hot, hearty breakfast delivered TO YOUR ROOM every morning in a basket:) You don't need to eat again until supper with a breakfast like that! Wonderful place off the beaten path, amidst the mansion district--away from the hustle and congestion down by the lakefront. Thank you Joy and Jim for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All the comforts of home and then some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

You are so very welcome Elizabeth and thank you so much for choosing The Firelight Inn as your lodging destination in Duluth. We enjoyed meeting you and we're happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. Blessings to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Just concluded an amazing Anniversary Weekend in Duluth with Jim and Joy at their meticulously cared for historic home made B&B. They were wonderful hosts and I encourage anyone looking for a restful getaway with their spouse or significant other to make arrangements as soon as possible. If you enjoy history and the romance it spawns, this is the place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Marty, Thank you for your kind words and we're so pleased you and Karie enjoyed your anniversary stay at our historic Inn. It was our pleasure to have you both with us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

As we approached the front porch, Joy and Jim (the owners) welcomed us to their home. They took us on a tour of the house and made sure that we were comfortable. Breakfast was delivered to our room and was delicious.

Joy and Jim gave us some restaurant tips for dinner, and provided well-wishes as we continued on our trip.

The entire experience could not have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

It was our pleasure having you both with us on your trip to Duluth! We so enjoyed meeting you and helping you plan your Duluth experiences. We hope to see you both again when you are in Minnesota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

The Firelight Inn is a 1910 Mansion on the side of a bluff overlooking Lake Superior. The proprietors, Jim and Joy, purchased the home 19 years ago, remodeled it to be a B&B, and have operated it ever since. The remodeling was artfully done to maintain the integrity of the period while adding all the modern amenities. Most of us who choose B&Bs know that the quality of the B&B is largely determined by the personalities of the hosts. Jim and Joy are exemplary hosts, and we have never stayed somewhere with hosts who have owned and managed the property for so long. Joy gave us a tour of the mansion when we arrived. It is a wonderful remodeling project, and she is rightly very proud of their work. The furniture and wood work makes one really know what it was like to be a millionaire in 1910 Duluth.

Our room with a fireplace, dressing room, bath and porch was very comfortable and pleasantly appointed in decor that matched the vintage of the mansion. The common rooms were so attractive and comfortable that we would have been happy never leaving the Inn. There was a deck with a patio table outside our room. It was on the creek side of the Inn. When we were on the deck, we could hear the burbling creek below.

With all of their experience in Duluth, Jim and Joy were able to give us great ideas of how to best utilize our time there. The restaurant recommendations were great.

A unique feature of The Firelight Inn is that they serve scrumptious 3-course breakfasts in baskets that Jim brings to your room. We would have preferred eating our breakfast on the deck attached to our room, but the morning temperature was a bit too cool for that.

We both were a bit sad that the weather was fine while we were there. If it had been inclimate, we would have loved to read the day away on the enclosed porch that went across the front of the house.

This is a great place.

Room Tip: We only saw our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardbeckman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you for your great review. We are just as thrilled today as we were when we first greeted guests in 1998 at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast and we hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

My Boyfriend and I stayed in the Superior Suite, for our 1st Bed and Breakfast experience, to celebrate our 5th Anniversary. From the moment we entered the beautiful porch we felt at home and welcomed. Joy and Jim greeted us at the door and gave us a tour of the historic home and then showed us to our room to get settled. The Superior Suite was perfect for us. The skylights let in a lot of natural light. One of the skylights opened where you could see Lake Superior which was a nice touch. Having breakfast brought to our room each morning packed beautifully in a large basket was a special treat. Each breakfast that we had during our stay was delicious! Throughout our stay Joy and Jim were readily there to answer any questions we had and to make suggestions on what to do in the area during our stay. We will definitely be back to enjoy this charming and secluded gem!!!

Room Tip: Room was very spacious and had a lot of charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glitterjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

We so enjoyed meeting you both and having you experience your first B&B experience with us and we're pleased that you were happy with your stay. We look forward to seeing you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.4 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
2.4 km away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 31 in Duluth
356 reviews
3.5 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.9 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
7.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2211 East 3rd St, Duluth, MN 55812-1850
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range: ₹ 11,611 - ₹ 16,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 traditional-style brick mansion on a secluded dead-end street adjoining Oregon Creek in Duluth Minnesota's historic mansion district. Just minutes from Canal Park, Lake Superior and the Aerial Lift Bridge. Glass-enclosed front porch, 12 fireplaces, whirlpools for two, outdoor decks, luxurious amenities. Featured in Better Homes & Gardens Magazine, Coastal Living Magazine, Country Almanac Magazine, Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper and more. Our specialty is delivering your gourmet breakfast to the privacy of your suite where it can be enjoyed by the firelight. Honeymoon, anniversary and romantic special packages. Let the warmth of the Firelight surround you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing