We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
200
4
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
4
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior suite sugar cookies wrap around porch fire escape canadian bacon large basket enclosed porch plush carpet wonderful home b b's each morning wonderful hosts gas fireplace duluth area north shore joy jim
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Firelight Inn more than 20 years ago, when it was then called the Barnum House. That wonderful experience inspired us to stay at numerous B&Bs across the US and Europe in the years that followed. I was afraid to return, because rarely does a second impression out shine the first. But the Firelight Inn and its warm and gracious hosts, Jim and Joy, exceeded our first impression. The house has been lovingly updated. The rooms are beautiful with many amenities and extra welcoming touches such as handmade petal soaps in the bathroom and a handwritten card of welcome waiting in our room when we arrived. The breakfast, delivered to our room in a basket, was plentiful and delicious. Try to talk Joy and Jim into making apple pancakes--so delicious! Pictured are area attractions near the Firelight Inn.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

It was a pleasure having you return to our historic property and we are thrilled that you feel we exceeded your first impression. Thanks for the baked apple pancake mention--that is a guest favorite! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

My wife and I have stayed at the Firelight in 3 times in the past couple of years and thoroughly enjoyed each stay. The inn keepers are wonderful, and the breakfasts are incredible! We love the privacy of having breakfast delivered to our room, and the fireplace and Jacuzzi are pretty great. We've been for our anniversary, a hiking trip along the Superior trail (Jacuzzi is pretty great after a day of hiking) and just for a fun Duluth visit. It's a wonderful B&B and would very highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Lisa, it's always our pleasure to have you with us at The Firelight Inn. Thank you for your kind words and for being our loyal guest. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Went to Duluth to spend a weekend at the Firelight. We were greeted at the door and given a quick lower level tour. Bags were carried upstairs for us. Awesome Superior room! More room than we needed, but shy not!!! Breakfast was wonderful both days! Any room would be awesome! Highly recommend this B&B as many before me already have!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

It was a pleasure meeting you and having you both stay with us at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast. Thank you for the glowing review and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

My one and only complaint if you could even call it that, was the love poem gift basket. It was way overpriced for what was included. Cheap chocolates, $3 love poem book, bath soap which is the exact same as what you receive complimentary in the bathroom to use in the jacuzzi, 2 small spounges, cheap bodycology lotion from walmart($3.97), and a bag of homemade soap. Other than that the place is beautiful and exceptionally clean and the food is delicious!! We felt we were in paradise. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wisegalinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

We are pleased you enjoyed your one-night stay with us and the food we served. You are not the first guests that have said it was a place they didn't want to leave. We are sorry you were less than satisfied with the Firelight Romance Basket. We would have surely made it right for you if you would have spoken to us when you left at checkout time. These baskets are requested by many of our guests and we have never had anything but great comments about them in eighteen years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

My husband and I stay in Duluth at least once a year, and the Firelight Inn is our favorite accommodation. Joy and Jim are warm, welcoming people who truly love what they do. We stayed in the Superior Suite, which was spacious, very comfortable, and super clean … but the best part about that room was drifting off to the sound of Oregon Creek. Breakfast was AMAZING… everything was delicious and the proportions were more than generous. We also liked the way that breakfast was delivered to our door in a (very cute!) picnic basket, so we could eat in our pajamas and didn't need to make small talk with strangers. I loved the inn, loved the innkeepers, loved the food, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ca-lammity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

We were happy to be your hosts for your trip to Duluth and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews