We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
200
4
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
4
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior suite sugar cookies wrap around porch fire escape canadian bacon large basket enclosed porch plush carpet wonderful home b b's each morning wonderful hosts gas fireplace duluth area north shore joy jim
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015

My wife and I stayed here for a relaxing weekend away and chose Firelight Inn based on previous reviews and their promise of providing gluten free breakfast (my wife has a gluten allergy). I have to say not only were we impressed; we were blown away by the experience of staying here. Joy and Jim are excellent hosts who were definitely born to be in this business. The house and rooms are beautiful (we stayed in the Isle Royale suite...highly recommend it) and the amenities are top notch; if you never want to step outside your room you don't have to! Plenty of music, movies, games and books await. Above all, however, the food is fantastic. Having breakfast delivered to your door every morning is amazing but the food itself was just fantastic. Joy also had some great restaurant recommendations for lunch and dinner. Add to all this the fact that Jim and Joy are very gracious, kind, accommodating hosts and you have yourself an incredibly relaxing weekend. I highly recommend this B&B if you are planning a trip anywhere near the Duluth area and I recommend even more so for those who are concerned about eating gluten free.

Room Tip: The Isle Royale Suite is great; cozy room with a big jacuzzi and nice fireplace. Perfect romantic getaway room!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

There are reasons why this B&B is the only Minnesota B&B in The Select Registry of B&B's. One is that Joy and Jim Fischer are extraordinary innkeepers. The second is the care that was taken when they remodeled the Barnham Mansion to keep the old ambiance while adding modern creature comforts like a double jacuzzi tub in each room.

We stayed there on our honeymoon and have gone back almost every year since. This visit was our 10th anniversary.

We already have our reservation for summer 2016. You should make one too.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vacationherewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend celebrating our anniversary/last getaway before baby arrives. The firelight inn is a cozy home away from home. From the awesome home cooked breakfasts to massages, we loved every aspect. Joy and Jim are great hosts- Definitely recommend. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jab44223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

From the moment you pull into the driveway of this lovely Inn, you are instantly immersed in a feeling like you are home. We park in the driveway and bring our bags with us to the front porch door. Many times we are greeted before we get off the driveway! The decor of this inn is absolutely breathtaking. From the porch that gives a cozy front seat to the rushing Oregon Creek to the beautiful fireplace and the staircase that wraps around it, we can't wait to drop our bags, grab our favorite book and begin our decoupling from society and the unplugging from the Internet and our typical daily life. They have Internet if you would like to use it, they also have a library of music and movies to select from if that's how you relax. I did not know what living was truly like before I tasted one of the sugar cookies near the complimentary soda and coffee machine. Whatever you want your experience to be like, Jim and Joy ( the Innkeepers ) will do everything within their power to make that experience the best it can be. You want peace and quiet? They drop your breakfast by the door and leave you alone. You like to chat and talk about life, love, and the pursuit of happiness? You hang around the Inn's fantastic shared quarters and it won't be long before you are engaged in a conversation with either the innkeepers or perhaps another guest who also likes to chat and meet new people. Speaking of breakfast, you just don't get a more fabulous breakfast than the one you get the mornings of your stay. My wife has an allergy to latex so she cannot eat fruits like bananas or mangos or even avacados. Jim and Joy are very, very careful to not use any food that has those items involved in their cooking or ingredients. It should go without saying that it was our responsibility to tell them and they were most accomodating regarding this. We have stayed in almost every room. They are all beautifully decorated and if the rooms are empty they would gladly show them to you. Each has its own theme and the focus is on our comfort.

Room Tip: The top floors seem to be the quietest from our experience. However, none have been uncomfortable. The Barnum is our personal favorite.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Firelight Inn in February for a weekend getaway. It was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and we had a wonderful time! The owners were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed while we were there. We stayed in the Brookside suite which was lovely. There were so many details that went into making this a great place to stay from the homemade soaps in the bathroom to having the history of the house and original owners available in the room to browse. And the breakfast each morning was fabulous!! It was so nice having a warm breakfast brought to the room that we could enjoy at a little table near the window overlooking the creek.

All in all we had a wonderful time here and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had a hard time choosing a room as they all are unique in their design. We loved the Brookside Suite and found it spacious yet cozy.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews