We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel is older but room was good and staff was wonderful and friendly. Great spot if you want easy access to the DECC, downtown and Canal park. We took a cab as it was a bit chllly to walk but the cost was under$5...would have cost that much to park. Beds were good and had free wi-fi

Room Tip: Only 2 floors so not a problem. It had adequate parking for all guests and was pretty quiet
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loungechairlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for your recent visit and nice comments. We are quite proud of our little hotel, and do enjoy sharing it with our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed you time in Duluth and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for The Downtown Duluth Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

I travel to Duluth a lot and I always stay at the Best Western Downtown. It's not down by the canal so I don't have to pay exhorbitant prices and it's an easy walk to restaurants, bars, etc. The staff is fantastic. Most notibly the front desk staff. They bend over backwards to make me feel welcome. They're so nice they could be "Canadian".
The rooms have been upgraded nicely, the beds are comfortable and clean. I LOVE the free wifi. So many hotels charge for this service. Plus, there's a computer in the lobby that you can use FREE. Imagine that!
The complimentary breakfast is really quite good for such a small establishment. Although the lobby is not big, there is a second comfortable lounge with a big screen tv and a washroom where I often enjoy breakfast. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer in the washroom so I can easily do laundry during a longer stay.
I like the Bestwestern Canadian club rewards program that offers a free room for every 10 nights that you stay. I've used this promotion a lot.
In high season they offer a free shuttle service which comes in handy if I have too many wobbly pops down at the Canal and don't trust myself to walk up the hill. Once during a snow storm the receptionist arranged for a free taxi to bring us back to the hotel because the shuttle wasn't available.
The coffee makers in the room are convenient and if I need a fridge they will get me one. I like that they have non smoking rooms. My friend left some valuable shoes in the room once and Sue from the front desk packaged them up and shipped them to her right away. Also, one time, I visited Duluth with a friend who was celebrating her birthday so one of the staff went out and bought a case of her favorite beer for me, which I later reimbursed him for, and put it in the room so that we could have a "cold" one as soon as we arrived. He even put a Happy Birthday note on it. Talk about good service.
On the down side, the hotel is located near the fire and police stations so sometimes you can hear a siren in the night. It doesn't bother me at all but some people might be put off by it. I almost never take my car when I go out for dinner at night and I've never had a problem walking by myself. I walk one block down to the Holiday Inn and take the indoor skywalk right down to Canal Park. It's brightly lit, safe and warm during those cold winter nights.
There's so much to do close by the Best Western Downtown, all within walking distance. Why pay more for a room that you're only going to sleep in. This place is clean, comfortable, friendly, priced right and I always feel like it's my home away from home.

Room Tip: rooms away from the street are a bit quieter
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank barkinglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

WOW - thanks for your many visits and for taking the time to write your lenghty and nice review. I'm so glad you are happy here, and we all really appreciate your compliments. I'd never heard of wobbly pops before, and hope you won't mind if I use it myself now and then. Sue and the rest of our team are happy to make your stays here memorable, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is one of the best places I've stayed at --- mainly because of the friendly and courteous front desk staff. The hotel itself is simple and clean, and the staff really excel in making guests feel comfortable and welcome. Their helpfulness is second to none in my book. My car broke down on the way to the hotel and they allowed me to cancel my reservation without penalty when I was forced to stay elsewhere on the first night. They also offered to allow me to keep my car at their hotel until I could find a service shop to bring it to, and offered to help me find a suitable shop, too! When I did eventually get to the hotel, they were superb from start to finish, even covering my cab from the airport. Their staff is awesome, and not snobby or condescending like you might find at some so-called upscale hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smart t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

I'm sorry you had car trouble on your recent trip, and glad you were able to get it fixed while you were here. Thank you for your nice comments, we really appreciate the recognition. I hope your next trip to Duluth with be less stressful, and that you will allow us to serve you again here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending events at the waterfront (Incline Bowling, Vista Fleet) and wanted to be able to walk there without paying the waterfront hotel prices.
This hotel provided what I was looking for, no more, no less. The room was very small, but the bed was comfortable and the coffee maker worked. Continental breakfast was just fine. I didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Walking to the waterfront was quick (less than 15 minutes) when taking the skywalks across the highway. Beautiful area and safe hotel. Thanks BW.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freezing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

I'm so glad you liked your stay here, thank you for writing and sharing your comments. Duluth does have a lot to offer, and you are right, we are a good choice for people who want to spend a lot of time in and around town, as opposed to in a hotel room. Please let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

the room felt cramped, it was however clean. at first sight i thought - what sis i just drive into,, but it was clean and the staff was great

Room Tip: I didn't use the "business center" in the lobby but it sure was busy. The exterior did...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldnj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Thanks for not letting your first impression be your last, and for taking the time to share your experience here. I'm glad you were happy with your choice and hope you will choose us again the next time you are looking for a great location and value in Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
0.7 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
5.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: ₹ 5,289 - ₹ 11,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing