We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I enjoyed this staying here. The room we got was spacious and quiet aside from the occasional child running up and down the stairs. The water for some reason didn't work when I woke up in the morning but did later on. The proximity to the rest of Duluth was very nice being that everything was within walking distance and meal options were close by too. The price was also great compared to other hotels in the area. If we are in the area again and looking for a place to stay we will definitely be looking at this Best Western as an option.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shischkabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thanks for taking the time to make your recommendation - everyone here really appreciates it. I'm glad you were happy with the value and location of our motel and hope you will introduce yourself next time you are here so we can thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

This motel is very old and very tired. There is no elevator and the carpeted stairs leading up to the second floor is worn and thin. All rooms are around the parking lot and it is located in an old section of town. The people working the desk, especially Reno, are very friendly and helpful. The price of the room came with a "sort of" breakfast. The hard boiled eggs are already peeled so we did not want to eat them. There is cereal, sausage, muffins, bagels and toast, juice and coffee. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a good size, but the grout needed attention. The walls were paper thin and we could hear people coming in and out of their rooms and talking inside. There was no body lotion-just shampoo and conditioner and a hair dryer. The heater worked well. The price we paid $78, was just right!! There is a Raddison, Holiday Inn and other nicer places down on Canal Park that we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

I'm sorry you were disappointed with our hotel during your recent visit, please accept my apologies. Thank you for sharing your comments, which give us a better perspective on what our guests are experiencing. Reno is terrific and inspires us all to do our best every day with every guest. I hope you will consider staying with us again when you are looking for a good value the next time you visit Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

While an old motel, it was clean, quiet and the staff was very helpful. It is within walking distance to Canal Park, where there are many restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us - thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I will share your review with the rest of our team, as we all really appreciate the positive recognition of our work here. I hope we can serve you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For the single traveller or backpacker hiking through the area, this is an ideal motel to stay at. It's right in the centre of downtown, and there is easy access to Duluth Transit, and about four blocks from the Skyline Shuttle (minibus to Mpls./St. Paul). The YMCA is 2 blocks away, as is Canal Park and lots of restaurants. The rooms are small, and again, for the single traveller, this is ideal. I typically stay at hostels during my travels, and this is the closest you'll find in Duluth at an affordable rate. Do check the rates during various times and see what they are, as they tend to change.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortFrances807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay enough to write about it, thank you . I remember the security, simplicity and cameraderie of hostel stays and really like your comparison. Please let us know when you will be back so we can welcome you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were going to town for a concert, and wanted to turn it into a mini-vacation with our adult daughters, so decided to stay overnight. Knowing how hard it can be to find rooms in Duluth on summer weekends, we reserved this one months ahead of time. It was an older "motor court" type 2-story brick motel with a tiny (think San Francisco-sized) parking lot. The room was a basic 2-double-bed with bath arrangement, clean enough but the bathroom grout could use some scrubbing & renewing. It was very noisy-every word, every vehicle, every door-slam in the place echoed through the courtyard & into our room.
For this type of room, I would normally expect to pay about $80/night when we travel, but in Duluth it cost $150 with taxes included. If I had it to do again, I would have paid the extra $30 for a nicer place - with corridors, real parking, and maybe a pool. The only saving grace was the very busy & very personable desk clerk, Reno.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewhappy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the price and welcome the opportunity to make this right, if you want to contact me directly. Reno is terrific, and I'm glad you were pleased with the service you received here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
5.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: ₹ 4,919 - ₹ 8,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing