We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff I've ever encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff I've ever encountered”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at the Best Western on a whim passing through town. I hadn't planned on staying in Duluth, so I was thrilled when I found how affordable the Best Western was (I've stayed a couple blocks away before and paid almost twice as much).

The property had a certain charm to it--its not flashy, and there isn't a pool..but it felt like visiting a grandparents house. I felt safe and welcome.

The staff remembered my name, and every time I saw them they sparked up a conversation with me. The breakfast had a huge variety of items to choose from, too.

I would definitely stay here again, especially with the prices they offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcochad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thanks for giving us a chance and for writing your review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time here and will share your comments with the rest of our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are here, or just passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    111
    89
    45
    39
See reviews for
89
128
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is nothing special but it has new beds, bedding, and carpet (which was just laid on top of the old stuff). The bathrooms were not renovated but they were fine. Breakfast was cold cereal, toast, donuts, and french toast and sausage. You can easily walk anywhere touristy - Fitger's, Canal Park, etc. The rate was high in our opinion (it was the Maritime festival weekend) but everything else was even more expensive!

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to a stairway or the ice maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laewagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review. Duluth has become a popular place, especially in the summer, and even more so during major events, like the Maritime Festival. We’re glad you were able to stay so close to the action, and hope you will consider being a guest here again, the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Is easy to find. Close to canal park. Good free breakfast. All in all a good deal. I have stayed here several times. Just don't stay in a room next to the ice machine.(It was really loud)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Thanks for writing & posting your review – making & keeping loyal guests like you happy is very important to us. We hope to replace that ice machine with a quieter one by the end of the year – hopefully it will be installed when you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This was a discounted winter trip and well worth the money. The room was very clean, heater a little noisy but cancelled out any street noise. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Needs additional ice machine in the opposite corner of the complex.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PommefriteTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are glad you found the service and accommodations to be a good value and we are planning on adding another ice machine to the property this summer. Please let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

When i drove into the parking lot I had a bad feeling,when i entered my room I noticed the bad smell. The wall paper was peeling the carpet was stained but the most disgusting thing was the ANIMAL HAIR ON THE BEDSPREAD. The heater had more dust in it and on it than I would think possible. I have stayed in some dive hotels but expected a bit more from Best Western. I did not stay the night, I told the clerk on duty that there was animal hair all over the bedspread and that I would not be staying. She did not seem surprised. I would rather sleep in my car than catch a disease from this scummy dive.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbocharged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you found the accommodations and service not up to our usual high standards. We will use your experience in discussion and training as we strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest. We are in the process of upgrading many of our rooms, and hope that you will stop in so we can show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#9 of 33 in Duluth
382 reviews
4.7 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.7 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Property: The Downtown Duluth Inn
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,998 - ₹ 13,609
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing