We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
352
121
24
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
121
24
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caribou coffee cheesy hash browns canal park complimentary appetizers within walking distance waffles fire pit beautiful hotel lake superior lake view free breakfast hot breakfast rooms are spacious lift bridge walking path duluth hotel other hotels
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We had stayed here previously and returned recently when traveling through the area. The location - in the canal area but close to downtown, right on the water - is still great, and we had really good service. But: our room was starting to show its age. The loveseat was frayed and furniture was nicked and scarred. It desperately needed dusting. Nothing but the tops of the furniture had been cleaned in quite a while, leaving a thick layer of dust. Our room was in some sort of dead zone. WiFi didn’t work for more than a few seconds at a time unless you stood at the door. The nice desk person promptly brought us a router (there’s the great service), but that didn’t work either. The included breakfast was average for a hotel of this type, and when I reached down to scoot my chair to the table, the bottom of the chair, and therefore my hand, was covered with something sticky. At this price point I expect better.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

I apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I will review your issues with the appropriate staff and we'll work on correcting the issues you mentioned. To help us retain your loyalty please contact me at jpaquette@canalparklodge.com so I can respond to you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This place was awesome. Staff very helpful when asked. we were there during there big high school hockey tournament. Loved the happy hour they had. very nice, clean, comfortable room. perfect view. Lots to do near this hotel on foot

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi Tracy,
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for writing a review.
Happy to hear that you think we have an awesome place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This Canal Park Lodge lived up to its reputation. It is clean, spacious, and well designed. The staff are professional and kind. The views of the city, Lake Superior, and the lift bridge are beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, and well organized. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Our family really enjoys Duluth. We hope to return soon to both the city of Duluth and this wonderful hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Happyelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Happyelm,
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to stay with us again.
Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms, nice staff. S’more ingredients available at front desk!!! Nice patio to relax on and people/lake watch with a cocktail. Ok breakfast, but could use some healthier choices like oatmeal or light yogurt. Was there for work, but will definitely be coming back with kiddo soon.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank TJA-Travel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi TJA-Travel9,
Thanks for staying with us while you were in Duluth for work. We look forward to your return visit with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Location, location, location!! This hotel was the best choice we made on this vacation. The lake walk was right behind the hotel. It is close to all the sights. Even though the hotel was full, they did a fabulous job keeping the breakfast bar filled. Rooms were clean. They were also larger than most. Great place to stay!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi Julie, Thanks for staying with us. We're happy you think it's a "Great place to stay!!"
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews