We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
349
120
24
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
120
24
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caribou coffee cheesy hash browns canal park within walking distance waffles free appetizers awesome hotel up north meatballs fire pit free breakfast lake superior lake view restaurants and shops quiet at night other hotels board walk
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

This "lodge" is an absolutely delightful hotel. It is situated right on the lake with wonderful views. Being in Canal Park you are within walking distance of all of Canal Parks' amenities. It is two blocks from the lift bridge, great movie theatre, and wonderful restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The front desk has been very accommodating, especially as our plans changed. A shout out to Al who works the morning breakfast. Besides being very efficient, he really cheers up the room. What an asset to any business to have employees who obviously enjoy their jobs. The offer all sorts of amenities you don't usually find, such as coffee and tea all day, lots of lodge-like sitting areas, outside patio with lots of lake front seating, heavy hors d'oeuvres in the evenings. Last night's chicken wings were wonderful. Housekeeping is great. So glad we stayed here. There is no onsite restaurant, but with so many great choices a short walk away, I understand why.

Room Tip: Get a lake view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Garrett,
So happy your stay was absolutely delightful! Thank you for staying with us.
I'll show Al your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed here for a quick trip to Duluth for our daughter's orientation at UMD. It is about a 10 minute drive to campus, and located in the lovely canal park area. The room was huge for 3 of us. Bathroom was spotless. Everything seemed updated and well maintained. Outside, Lake Superior is just steps away. Prices mid week in May were great for the service and room we received.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Jill,
Thanks for the great review and thanks for staying with us.
We hope to see you here a lot if your daughter ends up attending UMD. It's a great school! I graduated from there :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Two day business trip. Canal Park Lodge was wonderful. Beautiful view of Lake Superior. Wonderful walking trail with easy access lake side. Room warm beautiful and comfortable. Continental breakfast with nice variety. Pleasant staff.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank 1028jeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us during your two day business trip. Happy to hear that you had a very pleasant stay.
We hope to see you next time your back in Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Very nice third floor room with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. Staff very courteous if not overly friendly. Continental breakfast so-so. Appreciated the small workout room. Treadmill helpful after spending so much time in the car. Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Aila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi Aila, Thanks for staying with us.
Happy to hear that you will be staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We have stayed at Canal Park Lodge several times - not in passing thru Duluth - that hotel was our destination for a fabulous time. Decor beautiful and immaculate; facilities superb; complimentary breakfast fantastic; staff friendly and helpful; lots of great shops and restaurants nearby; walks on the shoreline boardwalk beautiful! We go in the off-season for the 50% discount for Canadians. Amazing deal!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Terry, Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews