We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 129
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 183
US$ 165
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Duluth(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 244
US$ 190
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 240
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 200
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 261
US$ 238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 179
US$ 173
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
10
11
5
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
11
5
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

The Allyndale is one of the cheaper extended stay motels in the area, with that being said, you get what you pay for. The outdoor area behind the motel has chairs and a fire pit which is nice. There is a nice sized creek on one side that if you can find your way down to is worth seeing. The ladies that run the office are nice and it was a good place to stay because we had a dog with us. The downside to bringing the dog there is that you can't leave the dog in the room unattended , ever, not even in a crate. That part is sort of a hassle but it's the price you pay when you have a pet and have to follow someone else's rules. The room itself was clean, bed was hard, furniture dated 70s/80s. The basics are there but not somewhere you would want to stay more than a day or two. very dark and damp feeling.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck G, General Manager at Allyndale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

We are sorry if your stay with your pet was not what you expected. The Allyndale Motel is not an "extended stay motel." Our primary guests are overnight visitors coming daily to Duluth. We do, as a courtesy, allow guest to bring their dogs along. This is done with the understanding that when a guest leaves the room their dog must go with them. We are sure that everyone believes that their dog does no wrong, unfortunately, it has been our experience that unattended dogs can have separation anxiety, meaning that they can act out in various ways, bark and carry on for hours. This creates a nuisance that we will not allow to be inflicted on our other guests. We also pride ourselves in maintaining the original twentieth century flavor. which can be more costly, while including modern amenities for convenience and comfort. All rooms are exceptionally clean and NON-smoking, with air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, in room coffee, cable TV and free WiFi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The place is run down, then the owner tired to blame us and charge us for his worn out faulty equipment. The room was very small. His charges and the room charges were very expensive for the type and condition of the hotel. There is no breakfast or even coffee available. A vending machine with some candy was all that was offered. He had a hard time hearing, and was very hard to communicate with, and mixed up our dates, causing us to have to find another place before we were ready to leave. It looks like a budget hotel but they charge non budget prices. They claim they have wi fi and internet, but they do not, or if they do it never worked. The phone only worked sometimes. The bed was old and saggy.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck G, Owner at Allyndale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

I'm very sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory. Your review is rather vague and scattered, but it will be addressed in the order you provided. Anything that is worn out or in any manner faulty is immediately repaired or replaced. Room sizes and charges are subjective, while no matter where one stays it could always be larger and less expensive, it is a matter of fact that we are one of the most reasonably priced places in Duluth. Breakfast is provided between 7:30 am and 10:00 am. Coffee is served with breakfast and coffee is available 24/7/365 from the coffee maker and coffee provided in each room. Communication is a two way street, I try to be very exact and precise on the information that I am providing. Sometimes, while communicating the provided information is not accepted, not liking what one is being told is not a communication error. When we take a reservation a room is booked for the specific dates requested, no mix ups. When a request for change of a reservation is made we can accommodate changes as long as it does not infringe on another reservation. We do not strive to be a budget motel, we try to keep the flavor of the original motel alive. And at times keeping the vintage atmosphere is much more costly than going with the latest trends. We have upgraded amenities for guest convenience, we do have free WiFi throughout the premise, flat screen TVs and cable. Also, existing phones were replaced in 2015 and while our phones appear to be retro motel phones they were manufactured in 2014. Our beds are replace every three to four years and are industry standard bedding. In fact during a 3 to 4 year period our beds are used less than ones own bed at home. Also, at this time, I viewed our guest record for two month prior to the date of this review and no one named Samatha was registered here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We stayed at the Allyndale for a climbing festival in Duluth. This motel is a bit out of the way, farther south in Duluth than some of the "name" hotels. While a bit dated, the place was clean and neat, everything worked, and the price was reasonable. For the three of us we got a suite with a kitchen, a separate bedroom with queen and double beds, and a third queen bed in the living area, which also had a stuffed chair, a couch, dresser, big TV, etc. Warm, dry, shower worked fine. My only complaint is that the free wi-fi was slow. Not the worst thing that could happen. Quiet at night, and the fun spots in downtown Duluth are readily accessible (we timed as 10 minutes drive - in a snowstorm). I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Number 14 is a suite, suitable for 3 or more.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We stayed in this hotel while my husband was working in the area. We had a kitchenette room which is great so you don't have to eat out every night. The area is quiet but close to everything. The staff is wonderful and treated us well. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

This motel is off the beaten path so it is not as noisy as others in the area that are closer to the highways. Also, the young lady at the front desk was really friendly and helpful.

The room was HUGE and it was very clean as well. Free WiFi, a choice of fresh fruit, pastries, toast or cereal in the morning and...you really can't go wrong for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotAFoodSnobFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews