We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Octoberfess at Ruttgers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
1 review
“Octoberfess at Ruttgers”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Went to Octoberfest at Ruttgers and it was great!
I was impressed with everything they had to offer.
Great resort!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    38
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
22
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

First time staying at Ruttgers. We stayed three nights this fall with our two smaller dogs in the pet friendly room in the West Lodge. Weather was not too cooperative but we were using Rutgers a base for some day drives to see fall colors in the state parks and area so we actually were able to drive out of the rain during the day. The room was super clean and comfortable with nice amenities such as small refrigerator, sofa and a screened porch. The property is large with many activities on the lake, golf etc. and lodging options ranging from the hotel type lodge rooms and condo/townhouses to individual cabins. Dining options on site are good. As it was the end of the season the main dining room had a limited menu but there are numerous options nearby.

Room Tip: Pet friendly options are limited to a couple of lodge rooms, three smaller cabins or some condos man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis area
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We first found Ruttger's last year. The entire resort is great. The greatness starts at the front desk with your check in. They were helpful numerous times when we called down for directions to neighboring towns & to get additional items or maintenance requests.
We had a door knob not working and a maintenance worker was at our room in about 5-10 minutes to fix it. The response time was more than wonderful.
The rates are good for the amount of space that you get. We stayed in the golf course condos & had both the downstairs & upstairs rooms. There is an adjoining staircase between the 2 rooms. we felt safe enough to have our young teenagers stay upstairs "on their own", with the doors open between the 2 rooms.
I told my son that I was going to write this review & what could I put for "bad or needs improvement". He said about the only thing he could think of was that there were too many Asian beetles in the stairway (it was getting cold out & the little bugs were starting to migrate inside). We were very hard pressed to find anything majorly wrong with this resort.
The owners are genuine & humble. They can be seen working the grounds right along with the employees.
Housekeeping was extremely accommodating when we asked them to come back since the teenagers were still sleeping.
We were there for Oktoberfest & they had many fun things for families to do.

Room Tip: We loved the golf course condo suite (upstairs & downstairs together)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycampers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We took our 2nd trip to Ruttgers in late June - my parents, my siblings and all our kids. Our group of 23 ranged in age from 5 to 73, and Ruttgers didn't disappoint! There is so much to keep everyone busy. There are daily activities that will please all members of your group. We stayed in the newer buildings closer to the road, and we were very pleased with the modern and spacious accommodations. The ladies all got pedicures at the spa - highly recommended. The sand castle contest was a huge hit, even though the kids came in second again this year. We'll get them next time. The food is great - if you have time, order off the menu. We found the freshly prepared food to be higher quality, especially at breakfast. Ruttgers is not inexpensive, but we love it and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aws1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Fun spot, with both old and new accommodations. We stayed in an old lake side cabin, very fun....feels like something out of a movie.
Definite shows it's age, but I think that's part of it's beauty.
Room was very rustic, but had AC, and it's own deck.
Restaurant lounge were nice, outdoor pool area is kinda small, but has a large beach area on the lake.
Has pontoon and ski boat rentals but I'd reserve in advance, cause nothing was available the weekend we were up there.
Golf course was fun, nice club house there, with great outdoor dining off the back deck.
Would like to go back and bring the kids!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerwood
38.7 km away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
275 reviews
38.4 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
429 reviews
7.6 km away
Country Inn Deerwood
Country Inn Deerwood
#3 of 3 in Deerwood
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
34.3 km away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
38.8 km away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Property: Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Address: 25039 Tame Fish Lake Rd, Deerwood, MN 56444-8544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Deerwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,877 - ₹ 16,621
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run resort on Bay Lake is over 100 years old and offers programs for children. The property is open between April and November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttger`s Bay Lake Hotel Deerwood
Ruttgers Bay Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing