We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We took advantage of some last minute vacancy rates and stayed at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge two nights. The property is beautiful. All of the grounds and buildings are carefully maintained. The outdoor pool is small so our kids preferred swimming in the lake. There is an indoor pool as well. During our visit, the lake water was very high, so there was only a small strip of beach available. I would like to return during a time when more beach was available.
My only complaint was that the hum of the room refrigerator woke me up during the night. I am a light sleeper though, as it didn't disturb anyone else in the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jk_in_kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    36
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
21
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

From check in through drinks, dinner, boat ride and the conference that I was at, the staff are smiley helpful, efficient. The cabin was older and a bit worn but i liked it a lot. Comfy new bed and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyoftheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

A family vacation like no other. This is our sixth vacation at Ruttger's and it gets better and better. We usually stay in a cabin but this time we stayedin a Bay Lake Villa. It was beautiful! Ruttger's has the best food of any resort I've ever stayed at, including international resorts. The food is tasty, plentiful and beautifully presented. The amenities are first rate and Kids Kamp is a God-send. Kids Kamp is like a specialized vacation just for your children and parents can enjoy some "alone" time without having to entertain their kids from morning till night. The nightly activities and entertainment is family friendly and above all, the service provided by the staff is first rate. My kids have gone to Kids Kamp for three years and every year when we come back the camp staff remember them and call them by name! How often does that happen from a 17 year old! Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmama55119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
977 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our family has been going to Ruttger's for more than 30 years. My wife and I recently spent the Mother's Day weekend there. I can report that this 100+ year resort, which has been owned by the same family since it was started, is in top form. Bay Lake, which it is on, remains a fascinating place. But the real news is about the extremely high level of service, friendly attitude and darn good food at Ruttgers. This is a terrific place for families. If you are looking for gourmet, don't go to Ruttgers. But if you are looking for a great place with a significant other, and or with kids, or with an extended family, with many different recreation options, this place is terrific.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Ruttger's Bay is a beautiful property, with many things to do. My boyfriend and I decided to go there right before the busy Labor Day weekend and we not only found a great deal but there was so much to do. We rented a Bay Lake Villa, which are the newer villas that were built in 2004 and we both loved the property. It is a suite with a full kitchen (including dishes, pots & pans, silverware, etc), whirlpool bathtub, patio (on the lower villa), and so many other features.

They also have a meal plan that can be purchased with the accomodations and with many different dining options at the resort. I believe this option is only available with certain room types, so I would call the resort and ask about this before hand. Well worth it!

Finally, there are lots of different activities that can be done. They have a game room that guests can pick up just about any game and rent it out for the day, they have two golf courses, a lake right by the resort, coffee shop with internet access, a spa, etc.

Overall it was a wonderful vacation, we would recommend it to anyone, we will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helmbhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerwood
38.3 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
38.6 km away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
29.6 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
28.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
31.4 km away
Eddy's Resort
Eddy's Resort
#2 of 5 in Onamia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Property: Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Address: 25039 Tame Fish Lake Rd, Deerwood, MN 56444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Deerwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,206 - ₹ 55,679
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run resort on Bay Lake is over 100 years old and offers programs for children. The property closes between November to April. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruttger`s Bay Lake Hotel Deerwood
Ruttgers Bay Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing