We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
100
148
101
51
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
148
101
51
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime rib breakfast buffet slot machines nice room players card sitting area stayed one night beds were very comfortable king bed players club twin cities duluth payouts concert tile mn
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stopped at Black Bear on our way back from Northern MN to the Twin Cities, as it was easy access from 35W and the Buffet had been recommended to us. The buffet was quite extensive and everything we tried was really good. Even the steamed vegetables, which are usually overcooked at buffets, were perfectly prepared. I would highly recommend the buffet. I understand that they have great seafood buffets (2 days), but we were traveling on a Saturday, which is a normal buffet with Prime Rib (great). We gambled in the clean casino and had a lot of fun. Will definitely visit here again! Next time we will stay at the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Gerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Our room was clean and comfortable. Had a great view too! I suggest parking in the parking structure, we had a wicked storm blow through and it was good to have the car under cover. The casino is bigger than we expected. The best thing though, is the buffet and the best thing about the buffet is the cold shrimp...they were excellent as was a lot of the food.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wuffda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Made dinner reservations for 8 family members at the Seven Fires restaurant. Had a nice, quiet area that allowed for conversations. Our waiter was great and the food was spectacular. Steaks were delicious, the prime ribs were enormous and super good. Got group photos taken by the staff. We stayed in a nice room and even made a few hundred bucks in the casino. Will definitely come back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight in our RV in the parking lot of this really nice casino. Had dinner in the bar of their finest restaurant and had small plates and wine for two for under $50. Walleye fingers were delicious as was the bacon wrapped shrimp and wedge salad. Chocolate mints are served with your check. Perfect meal. Breakfast was takeout from the Sage Deli. We split a ham omelette, potato wedges and toast breakfast for $6, more than enough for two. The slots were fun. We both walked away winners. A great visit!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank forteMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Black Bear Casino's Hotel on July 3rd. We were visiting the Duluth, MN area and this hotel is only about 15 minutes away. We paid $112 for a room with 2 queen beds. The room also had a sitting area with a couch and a 2nd TV. The room was nice and clean

We checked into our room at about 8:30pm, and for the first 20 minutes it sounded like children in the room above us were jumping off the beds and dribbling basketballs. Constant noise and pounding! I'm assuming the parents were in the casino and left the kids in the room alone. After a quick call to the front desk, things quieted down..........until 8am the next morning when it started again.

After checking in we decided to go eat. Unfortunately the buffet was closed. An employee suggested we try the deli, which we discovered was closed for renovations. Then they suggested the steakhouse which was also closed. We assumed these would all be open later, especially during the 4th of July holiday weekend!

Besides the noise, the beds were comfortable, and our short hotel stay was nice.

They also have a swimming pool and arcade located in the building.

The casino/hotel is located next to the freeway and close to Duluth. Anything that you can't find at the casino can probably be found in Cloquet, just 3 mikes up the freeway (restaurants, Walmart, fast food, auto parts, auto repair, etc.)

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews