We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Really Good, the Good, the Somewhat Bad, and the Ugly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Reviewed 16 August 2017

OK, the Really Good :

We recently stayed at this hotel / resort for one night in early August. It was very reasonably priced – a great value for your stay.

It is located approx. 20 miles south of Duluth, MN – a good location, just off Highway 35, with no concerns about walking around, day or night. The resort has a beautiful golf course also – I highly recommend trying it. The resort has a “no alcohol” on the premises policy – that’s either good, or bad, based on your lifestyle.

The dinner and breakfast buffets are EXCELLENT, and quite inexpensive – bring your appetite, you’ll eat well !! The staff / servers in the restaurant were always very polite, helpful and attentive.

The Good :

We had a “smoking” room on the first floor, in what they referred to as the old / original section of the resort. The suite was large enough, but not much of a view (the parking lot) - but, you’re there to stare out a window – so, not an issue. The room had a sitting area, a king size bed, a medium sized bathroom, a mini fridge, etc … and everything worked fine, we had no issues. Overall, the room was quite clean, quiet and comfortable. The front lobby and cleaning staff were very good, and always very friendly.

The Somewhat Bad :

The Wifi worked about “average” when we were there. Of note, there is NO business centre / on site computers you can use. There is absolutely no shortage of slot machines, but not one computer on site to use – I guess it shows what the resort really caters to ?? I don't think they have a fitness centre (which you will need after the buffets, lol) - and the pool area needs upgrading, which brings me to ….

The Ugly (sorry) :

The Pool and Hot tub area – this was closed, due that a young girl fell quite sick from swimming in the pool (per the front desk). I checked it anyways, the water was a “murky green” colour - and to be honest, I would have NEVER swam in it anyways, in that condition. At least the sauna was open, which was very good – but, I had to get water from the drinking water fountain ??

The next morning, the pool area was re-opened – the front desk advised me the pool was drained and sanitised. I found this somewhat offensive – as the pool was still “green” and there were people swimming in it. Spend some money on chlorinating your pools, and hot tubs. And while you’re at it - the general lighting in the pool area needs improvement also.

Lastly, I would rate the resort as “good” – it needs some minor improvements – but Yes, I’d most likely come back here again – enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SnowDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stopped at Black Bear on our way back from Northern MN to the Twin Cities, as it was easy access from 35W and the Buffet had been recommended to us. The buffet was quite extensive and everything we tried was really good. Even the steamed vegetables, which are usually overcooked at buffets, were perfectly prepared. I would highly recommend the buffet. I understand that they have great seafood buffets (2 days), but we were traveling on a Saturday, which is a normal buffet with Prime Rib (great). We gambled in the clean casino and had a lot of fun. Will definitely visit here again! Next time we will stay at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Gerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Our room was clean and comfortable. Had a great view too! I suggest parking in the parking structure, we had a wicked storm blow through and it was good to have the car under cover. The casino is bigger than we expected. The best thing though, is the buffet and the best thing about the buffet is the cold shrimp...they were excellent as was a lot of the food.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wuffda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Made dinner reservations for 8 family members at the Seven Fires restaurant. Had a nice, quiet area that allowed for conversations. Our waiter was great and the food was spectacular. Steaks were delicious, the prime ribs were enormous and super good. Got group photos taken by the staff. We stayed in a nice room and even made a few hundred bucks in the casino. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight in our RV in the parking lot of this really nice casino. Had dinner in the bar of their finest restaurant and had small plates and wine for two for under $50. Walleye fingers were delicious as was the bacon wrapped shrimp and wedge salad. Chocolate mints are served with your check. Perfect meal. Breakfast was takeout from the Sage Deli. We split a ham omelette, potato wedges and toast breakfast for $6, more than enough for two. The slots were fun. We both walked away winners. A great visit!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank forteMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
28.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
20.8 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
29.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Duluth North/ Mall Area
27 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 32 in Duluth
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range: ₹ 2,892 - ₹ 9,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing