We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Made dinner reservations for 8 family members at the Seven Fires restaurant. Had a nice, quiet area that allowed for conversations. Our waiter was great and the food was spectacular. Steaks were delicious, the prime ribs were enormous and super good. Got group photos taken by the staff. We stayed in a nice room and even made a few hundred bucks in the casino. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight in our RV in the parking lot of this really nice casino. Had dinner in the bar of their finest restaurant and had small plates and wine for two for under $50. Walleye fingers were delicious as was the bacon wrapped shrimp and wedge salad. Chocolate mints are served with your check. Perfect meal. Breakfast was takeout from the Sage Deli. We split a ham omelette, potato wedges and toast breakfast for $6, more than enough for two. The slots were fun. We both walked away winners. A great visit!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank forteMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Black Bear Casino's Hotel on July 3rd. We were visiting the Duluth, MN area and this hotel is only about 15 minutes away. We paid $112 for a room with 2 queen beds. The room also had a sitting area with a couch and a 2nd TV. The room was nice and clean

We checked into our room at about 8:30pm, and for the first 20 minutes it sounded like children in the room above us were jumping off the beds and dribbling basketballs. Constant noise and pounding! I'm assuming the parents were in the casino and left the kids in the room alone. After a quick call to the front desk, things quieted down..........until 8am the next morning when it started again.

After checking in we decided to go eat. Unfortunately the buffet was closed. An employee suggested we try the deli, which we discovered was closed for renovations. Then they suggested the steakhouse which was also closed. We assumed these would all be open later, especially during the 4th of July holiday weekend!

Besides the noise, the beds were comfortable, and our short hotel stay was nice.

They also have a swimming pool and arcade located in the building.

The casino/hotel is located next to the freeway and close to Duluth. Anything that you can't find at the casino can probably be found in Cloquet, just 3 mikes up the freeway (restaurants, Walmart, fast food, auto parts, auto repair, etc.)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We started out planning on 1 nite,but because construction on the freeway we stayed a second nite. This was during Grandma's Marathon weekend,as our daughter who lives nearby ran in the marathon. The king size Tower room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The soaps and amenities were good and well liked. The casino was a bit busy on Sat eve,but still fun and a few slots were loose..we plan to stay again,even though our players card didn't give us rooms for the weekend. The food in the buffet was great.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Our room was supposed to be non smoking and it was obvious it had been smoked in. But the beds were excellent and the room was clean. Big casino but one of the dirtiest I've ever been in. Full ashtrays and several machines literally covered in ashes to the point of having to blow them off before I could play. I saw plenty of floor walkers but only one cleaning person the whole night.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank tivab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
31.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
31.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
20.8 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
28.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range: ₹ 2,924 - ₹ 9,878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing