We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Black Bear”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stay in the new section and the beds are very comfortable and there are lots of pillows. The room is fairy large but wished they had a fridge in them. The rooms are very reasonable and black Bear is only twenty minutes from Duluth.
The breakfast buffet is my favorite. The bacon and caramel rolls are to die for. You can order toast from your server to go with your freshly made omelet. The price is really inexpensive for the quality and quanity you receive.
Overall this is one of our favorite places to stay and play.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nopension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

When we checked into casino hotel the desk clerk was the snooty little b---- and of course her name tag was backwards so you couldn't see it after we got our rooms which was suppose to be a queen size suite we walked in and it was so dirty with stains on the carpet and lamp shades,holes in the ceiling, toys under the tv stand from previous guests and in the bathroom you had to stand over the toilet to get the door open to get out of the bathroom it was so small.The room was so small that I am not quite sure how they can even call it a suite. When I called to complain they moved us into a regular room in the "new tower" and charged me more to move. They didn't show good customer service at all because they were not willing to take any discount off of the price and instead made me pay more for a decent room. Also, they did not do anything to fix our experience they only said that they would work on it to fix the next persons experience so they obviously have no concern for their customers. The new room we got was beautiful but after all of the hassle of getting to a new room it wasn't worth it. I would not suggest for anyone to stay in the "old" section and beware of their customer service reps. After the hotel experience we did enjoy the buffet and pool but that was the only good part.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RoxyM304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This place is great! Wonderful and rennovated rooms, great pool that is open all night, and the restaurants have the best food I've had in years! The breakfast buffet cost $5 pp.... I couldn't believe it! The steakhouse was extremely impressive.... Food was to die for! Just don't try to bring alcohol into the hotel from the gaming floor as its not allowed. The construction and design of this hotel is great. Dont bother stopping at hinckley, this is the place to be!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelcoordinatorMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I end up staying at Black Bear about once a year on business because the hotel is much cheaper than any Duluth option. The hotel itself is very nice. Comfortable beds, not noisy, and the non-smoking rooms don't smell. The casino portion is another story. There is no mojo. No excitement. Just a large space crammed with slots. I'm not sure how somebody would prove something like this, but of all the casinos I've been to, Black Bear has the worst payouts. Not only wasn't I winning, nobody I saw was winning. Casino lovers know that certain places pay, and certain places don't, and Black Bear doesn't. In short, the hotel is a nice option if travelling to Duluth, but the casino stinks. Stick with Hinkley an hour south.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear Casino for a wedding reception. Building and room were both very, very smoky. But otherwise the room was clean and nicely decorated. Check-in was extremely fast even though there was a line. All the staff we came into contact with was very friendly and helpful. For $52 a night we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mshoppus182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
28.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
20.8 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
29.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Duluth North/ Mall Area
27 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 32 in Duluth
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range: ₹ 2,892 - ₹ 9,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing