We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great, room could have been cleaner”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have stayed at Black Bear Hotel 3 times now. In all stays we had great service in all of the many areas of the Resort. The food was good in the Deli and the lunch buffet was good too. When you check in the desk staff will give you some perks, like coupons for cash, yes cash, and $ off in the food places and video game area. We spent some time with the kids in the game room, they could use a kids opinion on the games they want to play in there though. My kids wernt interested in much there except getting tickets to turn into prizes.
Over all the rooms have been large, quiet, and sufficent for our purposes. The pool area is large with a nice gathering area. The hot tubs didn't seem to be working properly any of the visits.
They have some great specials and good weekday rates too. Tell them you saw the reviews at Trip advisor. Hoping we may get a discount for mentioning that too soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kt3471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 400 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

I've stayed here several times as I travel through the area often. Too bad some people/reviewers who are clearly told at check in, that no alcohol is to be brought into the rooms do otherwise. Those people seem to think they are the exception, get caught and then complain here they were treated unfairly. I like to drink as much as anyone and the rule is a bit stiff, but it's a rule they have a right to enforce because THEY OWN THE PLACE and they don't want drunken slobs tearing the place up. If you want to drink in your room, stay across the road at the other motel which leaves me to wonder why the previous reviewer slept in the ditch. Plenty of places in Black Bear to consume alcohol and have fun.

Now, my review...
Rooms are spacious and clean and quite comfortable, especially for the price. Tower rooms are the better ones. Halls are wide, rooms quiet. The buffet is OK but I like the formal restaurant better. The deli is cheap but has a lot to be desired and that's why it's by the bingo hall. Bars have always been open when I've been there. Security is quite visible and that's fine with me. Casino is clean and spacious. If you are staying there, the coupon they give you at check in to take to the players club is definitely worth your while (and I'm no coupon cutter). Join the players club and they send you very good discounts for your room. I send people here and will continue to do so. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johhhhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I booked a night at the Black Bear Casino Hotel (New Tower) to celebrate valentines day, and just to get away for a day. We booked the valentines day offer. The offer included a $75.00 tower room, $25.00 off at the "Seven Fires Steakhouse" 2 free breakfast buffet the morning of check out. We also signed up for the players club card and recieved $5.00 cash each, a coupon for $1.00 off at their new coffee shop, and $2.00 off each for any buffet. ince we already were getting a free buffet each, we gave those away.

When we confirmed our February 13th check in by phone that same morning, I was told that their Saturday night had been sold out, therefore we probably could not check in before 3:00 P.M. Upon arrival we used the free valet parking and checked our bag. We went to the players club booth to sign up for our players cards, since you have to have a card in order to get the $75.00 special price. Once we did that, we decided to try to check in, even though it was only 11:00 A.M. No problem! A room was ready for us on the 9th floor (#9026) and it wa just a short walk from the elevator.

The tower is less than three years old, so there was actually very little signss of any wear. The bathroom wa average, but nicer than the standard batchroom found at most budget hotels. There was a nice modern tile on the wall behind the sink and marble counter. Other than that, it wa typical.

The room wa large. We had a king bed, 32 inch flat screen (Wall mounted) and a reclining chair. There wa a large open area that could have used a table ot another chair. The decor is average, but nice. Shower presure was good but we had to turn the water temperature all the way to hot in order to get warm enough water to take our showers (8:30 A.M.). The room guide tated that on-line check out wa available. When I tried it, it did not work and stated "unavailable", so we did have to check out at the front desk, but that was very fast, as the elevator lets you off right there.

Our dinner at the steakhouse was one of the best meals we have ever had. 6 oz. filet mignon and 6 oz. lobster tail for $39.00 (Plus $4.00 for the potato and $3.00 for the salad). We ordered the steaks medium and they were perfect! The lobster was alwesome! Service wa fast and friendly.

The breakfast buffet was the worse I have ever had. Fatty bacon, fatty sausage, over done eggs, ham soaked in water, runny thin gravy, hard biscuits and muffins (Baseball hard)..ICK! The only thing that was good was the fruit and french toast.

Had nachos at the little deli. They were good.

Drink prices were average. $4.00 for mixed drinks and $3.00 for domestic bottles of beer.

We did pretty well in the casino. BEWARE, IT GETS VERY SMOKY. Came home with about half of what we had budgeted to spend. We tend to gamble a few hours when we are at casino's. By the end of the trip, we had earned $15.00 in cash back from our players card and $15.00 in comps, which my wife used in the gift shop for some earrings.

In general, the experience wa great. Valet parking, fast check in (Don't expect any smiles), clean spacious room (New tower), great starbucks coffee shop with ice cream, free wi-fi,

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATVDAD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Positive:
1. Nice rooms
2. Pool area is large
3. Food was good
Negative:
1. Dumb rule about no alcohol in the room
2. People smoking everywhere - odd you can do this, but not drink

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We checked in to our non-smoking room that smelled like it had been smoked in. The room was very dirty and old looking. the TV remotes had crud between the buttons and we were afraid to walk barefoot.

The pool absolutely smelled. I would not be surprised if the pool had not been tested for a while. The night before we swam the pool and hottubs were full of people.

My warning to anyone who likes to have a semi-clean experience. It should have been $30 per night since it had the quality of a rundown motel.

No internet in the rooms!!! Not even a wireless system.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craigjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyvanguilder, Manager at Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you found the accommodations and service not up to our usual high standards. We will use your experience in discussion and training as we strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
31.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
20.8 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
31.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
28.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range: ₹ 2,923 - ₹ 9,873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing