We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Waterpark vacation over spring break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Red Wing, MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Waterpark vacation over spring break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Took two girls ages 9 and 6 to hotel/waterpark over spring break. Very nice waterpark, hotel rooms as expected for newer Holiday Inn Express. Hot breakfast in the morning was quite good for hotel food. Kids enjoyed all aspects of stay. Price was reasonable considering the water park is included in room rate.

Room Tip: Check for special promotional packages. Ours included "free" money to spend at gift shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    72
    18
    9
    12
See reviews for
115
13
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

First off, if your going for the water park, it's tiny and dirty. But mostly the lifeguards do not pay attention to the swimmers. They mostly goof around and stare out the window. They don't watch the pool. Don't assume your kids are safe, even for a second. I brought it to the attention of the hotel general manager and he seemed concerned, but day two proved otherwise.

The rooms were fine, but the beds had been used one too many times as trampolines. The hallways weren't vacuumed during our stay and there was a general filthy feeling about the place.

After dinner the last night we walked around The Lodge across the street and it appeared clean and tidy, however we didn't go into a room.

I can't stress enough about the staff and the cleanliness of the water park. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNB412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear JNB412,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We did a Crowd Cut deal so that is the reason why I did not go 5 stars because this would be a tough place to pay full price. But this place is great and waterpark was a blast not only for the kids but for the adults as well. It has so many options for everyone and yes, it is crowded but there are still so many things to do that you just go from place to place. The grill and bar was perfect (pizzas, chicken wings, buffalo wings, salads and a full bar) - couldn't have asked for anything better. There is about a 20-30 minute for the food so just plan ahead. The rooms were nice and very comfortable beds. Previous reviews were correct in that kids do run down the hallways at late hours so prepare for that. Not sure why parents would allow it but plan ahead. The fan mode on the air conditioning/heater was great and we also brought a sound machine. Request a 3rd floor room as well ahead of time and this will help with noise. Overall a great place and many restaurants nearby that you can order in and eat in the lounge area. The staff was very friendly as well!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jt1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagram, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were looking for a nice weekend getaway for my family. We usually stay at upper end hotels but wanted the kids to have fun. Let me first add, the hotel was nice, the lobby and rooms were nice and decorated. The kids did have fun at the waterpark. However when bed time came it was a mad house. We spent $200 bucks for a kids suite, which was tiny its a regular size hotel room with a seperate little room with a bunk bed, and our area was clastraphobic, with a full size bed. When we decided to go to bed at 11 at night, kids were running in the halls banging on the doors, I complained once to the front desk but they did nothing as it did not get quiet until 1 in the morning. You could hear the people talking in the room next to you, and you could hear every single footstep the people above you made. It is not a quiet place for a getaway, spending 200 bucks a night I would expect more. I know there will be readers saying well there is kids there and its a waterpark, I understand that completely and we travel all of the time to other waterparks inside hotels, once you close the doors you hear nothing. So anyways the next morning my wife goes to complain to the front desk and the female who worked the front desk said we could not cancel our next nights reservation or we would be charged, but offered us a lower room. It wasn't my intentions to stay in a lower room and what good what it do, it would not solve the noise problem. So my wife told me this and there is a card in the room saying if you are not satisfied with your stay you get your money back, so then I went to the same female with that card and told her I wanted to cancel she then allowed me too. I did not want a hand out so I still agreed to pay for the room, but I will never stay here or come here ever again, and its making me question of ever staying at a holiday inn express again.

Room Tip: If at all possible try the 3rd floor if possible, because it is the top floor, the waterpark is fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coinedby4stargeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I took our young kids here over new years eve weekend for the water park. It was a BLAST! The place was super clean, our room was hugh and most importantly clean. (we had the two queen beds) We were able to check in early which was nice. The staff were very friendly , they had free coffee all day and a little store down by the office that had t-shirts and sweat shirts, ice cream bars, snacks. The water park was great, there was stuff for the younger kids to do as well as up to the adults. One con of the water park would have to be at night in the water park there wasn't much light. The little cafe in the water park area was also great, there pizza was excellent! There was a great hot breakfast as well... We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We reserved a 2 queen bed room it was on the top floor, in the corner. It was the biggest room i had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoNative85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
0.4 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
1.2 km away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
1.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
2.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
3.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Address: 15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,980 - ₹ 17,052
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Holiday Inn Baxter
Baxter Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Baxter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing