We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,046)
Filter reviews
3,046 results
Traveller rating
1,934
722
212
126
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,934
722
212
126
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al bandar lazy river piano bar capri court tapas kids club adventure zone surf cafe half board fish restaurant family hotel heritage village relaxing holiday shuttle bus private beach dive centre cold towels
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 3,046 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing location, surrounded by Beach & colourful mountain.
The lazy river connected between the pools of Al Waha & Al Bandar is the best attraction.
Very large pool with pool bar, kids area & jacuzzi. Separate quite pool is also available.
Kayaking & other beach activities are good.
There is a lot to see on a walk around, especially on the beach side.
The aquatic play area near Al Waha is a favourite for the kids.
There is a separate adventure zone for children.
Restaurants are up to the international standards.
However this time we felt that they were understaffed.

Over the years, our best choice in Oman.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jobin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk S, Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Jobin G,

thank you for spending your weekend with us and taking the time to share this nice review. I really like the way how your describe our facilties and I hope you will have a chance to stay soon again.

Warm regards,
Dirk Salzsieder
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

It is a great restaurant you can enjoy with family, they have the lazy river which I enjoyed also kayaking and snorkeling. I wasn't lucky but you can spot a turtle here. The sheesha and restaurants are great and breakfast is elaborate. I would like the cats taken care off as they can be bothering when dining outside.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have the sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akbarkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk S, Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Akbarkq,

thank you for spending your holidays with us and taking the time to share this nice review. I am happy that you have enjoyed your time with us and will look into the cat issue which is an isolated one.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Warm regards,
Dirk Salzsieder
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The food, the service, excellent some of the best in the Middle East.Beautiful setting.Good gym facilities.

The food lots of variety,well presented including an excellent breakfast buffet,dinner buffet.

Rooms very comfortable and well maintained.

Room Tip: All rooms above first floor have a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 8richard903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk S, Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear 8richard903,

thank you for spending your holidays with us and taking the time to share this short and very nice review. I am happy to see that you had a great time with us and I hope you will have a chance to return back to Muscat and our resort.

Warm regards,
Dirk Salzsieder
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We have stayed at this hotel many times as it is so relaxing. From the minute you arrive until you leave you are made to feel special. Little touches such as when you go to sit by the pool or on the lawn you receive a cooler box with bottled water inside with ice and this is replenished whenever you run out. Also during the day they come around with fresh fruit and cooler flannels. Food can be a little expensive but that is because there is not particularly anywhere else to eat. You have a courtesy bus to take you into town and it picks you up again to take you back to the hotel. However if you miss that the taxis are not expensive. It is a very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: It's nice to ask for a sea view too as it is more peaceful
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Catsshortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk S, Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Catsshortie,

thank you for spending your holidays with us and taking the time to share your very nice review. I am glad you have had such a great time with us and I hope that you will have a chance to return soon again.

Warm regards,
Dirk Salzsieder
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The place it self is astounding! surrounded by rocky mountains and clear seas. Room is clean and attentive staffs but the service is kinda slow. You can relax by the sea shore while driving fresh coconut juice or alcohol. Foods are mouth-watering especially the fresh waffles during breakfast. :)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Reslie Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk S, Manager at Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Bandar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Anne M,

thank you for spending your holidays with us and sharing this short and nice review.
I am happy that you overall had a great time with us and I appreciate your comment about our service.
We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon again.

Warm regards,
Dirk Salzsieder
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews