We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,362)
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveller rating
707
442
146
42
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
442
146
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al waha lazy river kids club family hotel adventure zone splash pad interconnecting rooms surf cafe the ground floor chi spa samba restaurant sea view pool bar melon half board water activities heritage village
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 1,362 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This hotel is simply fantastic from the level of service to the quality of food and stunning sea views! Everything was simply amazing. Our room was spacious and elegant with all the necessary facilities and we had a patio with sun loungers which was ideal for relaxing in the afternoon. We were given an upgrade to Al Waha which was a lovely surprise! We checked in early so our room was not ready, we were however able to use the hotel facilities and had an early lunch while waiting for the room. The decor, style and ambience of the hotel transports one to a magical place and you truly feel like you are on holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amethyst_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen D, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Amethyst39, thank you very much for your valued and detailed feedback of your recent stay in Al Waha Hotel. I appreciate you having set aside some of your time to share your thoughts with us and with fellow travellers via TripAdvisor.

Your satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy that we as a team were able to meet all your needs during your stay. The whole team is grateful of the opportunity of being in service with you and thank you for your wonderful comments about their service.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings as it is definitely one of the blessings of this location.

We can’t wait for your next return. Please do get in touch as it will be my pleasure to personally welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Jürgen Dörr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We fell in love with the Shangrila Barr Al Jissah when we visited it for the first time last year. So we decided to go back this year. And it was absolutely amazing. The facilities at the resort are perfect. The staff are very courteous. We had half board this time and the food on offer at the Al Tanoor restaurant was vast and delicious.
All I can say is that I can’t wait to visit this place again.

One of the best places we’ve visited for a family holiday.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Arfhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen D, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Arfhan,

Thank you for staying with us again in Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our resort and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty.

Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our resort, and thank you for highlighting the facilities and the offerings in Al Tanoor. Our entire team enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

Until your next visits.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Really excellent facilities. Rooms v nice, restaurants surprisingly good.

We also used the conference facilities which were very good.

Great beach, pool v good, range of water sports.

Ground floor rooms in al bandar (there are 3 hotels in the resort) are particularly good with terraces and easy access to the pool and beach.

It's not got the 'big resort ' feel. Manages to stay intimate and friendly. It's low rise. V nice.

Would def return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank fabfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen D, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear fabfoodfan,

Thank you for taking time to write us a great review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive, and we all appreciate you highlight the great aspects of your stay.

I hope you will return again soon for some well-deserved break. Please do get in touch if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We have had a wonderful time in the Shangri-La in Muscat, Oman. The resort itself is absolutely family-friendly and my kids (6 and 9 years old) thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Especially the pools are nice and the Lazy River was a real winner for our kids. Breakfast and the food overall was good, not amazing. We would definitely recommend this resort to families. One recommendation is to update the rooms, as they feel quite dated already.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Ko_020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen D, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Ko_020,

Thank you for taking your time to review us here on TripAdvisor and for the valuable comments you’ve provided in it. All guest feedback are deemed constructive as it help us know how we measure up to the expectations of every guests we welcome in our resort.

Thank you for highlighting that your kids enjoyed the pool and lazy river we have in Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa.

Our number one priority is to make every guest experience exceptional and unique as it can be. It's important to mention that we are currently taking measures to improve our quality levels in facilities and offerings. And we would like to share it with you real soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family soon again and make every effort to exceed your expectation.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have stayed in the hotel 3 times now and each time it has improved! The location of the hotel is incredible and is situated on its own private beach! The views from the hotel rooms are wonderful being surrounded by mountains and facing the sea.

The highlight of our stays have been doing diving with the local company the hotel employs. They are so friendly and make every trip exciting!

Room Tip: Get a room with a beach view! Definitely Worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen D, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Anna,

Thank you for taking your precious time to review us here in TripAdvisor and for choosing Shangri La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you highlighting the blessing of our location. The team in Extradivers will definitely be thrilled to read your positive remarks about their service and offering.

Looking forward to your next visit and please do get in touch if I can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,
Juergen Doerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews