We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
658
383
237
127
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
383
237
127
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds afternoon tea junior suite beautiful hotel four poster bed the river cocktail bar scones luxury hotel beautiful room relaxing weekend wedding anniversary special occasion cooked breakfast staff were attentive lovely setting couldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’ve been here four times , absolutely fabulous, spa, restaurant, grounds , rooms good value . They have a helipad , everything you need.
The spa is excellent , the big lounge rooms you can sit in them all day and eating in the conservatory is lovely on a sunny day .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cinallic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertP7747, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cinallic

Thank you very much indeed for your excellent review! The house is made up of beautiful and tranquil spaces perfect for spending time relaxing and soaking up the wonderful atmosphere and taking in all the breathtaking views of the sweeping countryside! Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Afternoon tea at Danesfield House was an absolute delight. The view and grounds are splendid. The service was fine. The scones and cakes were freshly baked and each was scrumptious. We couldn’t eat all of them so we took the remainder home in a box and had them over the next few days! It’s not cheap but if you’re looking for cheap then don’t come here but if you’re looking for a bit of luxury and style then Danesield House is your place!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertP7747, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Stephen G

Thank you so much for your excellent review! Danesfield is the epitome of a classic country house luxury and afternoon tea here is a truly memorable experience! The team will be delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, many thanks again.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Absolutely splendid place. We stayed in courtyard room 138 best acomodation I have seen so far in uk. Food was excelent as well as service provided. Only coments I would make (this is not a complaint) is that if you want capucino for breakfast or if you want more coffe you have to pay extra. Not that I mind but it somehow does not feel right in such marvelous place.

Room Tip: try to get room 138
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anthonynajev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertP7747, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear anthonynajev

Thank you very much for your brilliant review! Danesfield is indeed a splendid place and 138 is one of our Stable Suites and is an outstanding room! I am delighted to read that you found both the food and service to be excellent, we do offer luxury cafeteria coffee as part of our delectable breakfast options as well as an extensive coffee menu in order to give our guests as much choice as possible. Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This overnight stay was booked as a surprise for my husband for his 50th Birthday. I booked a package which included overnight stay, 3 course meal, spa experience and breakfast and they delivered on all counts. On arrival we were welcomed with a drink and checked in very efficiently. We were told we had been upgraded (which was a lovely surprise!) and taken to our rooms by a very genial gentleman. Our upgraded room was wonderful! A spectacular view of the garden with the river snaking through the scenery. There was a beautiful personalised chocolate cake for him and a complimentary mini bar. We made our way to the spa where we were greeted and shown the facilities to use, spa, pool and steam/sauna. We went for our massages, which were upgraded from the original treatments but they also had kindly upgraded us to the couples room, which was a lovely touch. The massage was lovely! But my husband's was more sports massage than relaxing..I'd advise to discuss the type of massage you want before starting! Mine was wonderful and relaxing. After this we returned to the room to relax before dinner. There was a wedding being celebrated at the venue and they had drinks on the terrace overlooking the gardens and under our window, but this did not disturb us at all, but actually allowed for a spot of people watching. Dinner was very tasty and staff attentive, the only downside was wedding music being quite loud, but not in-keeping with a meal for two, but too loud for alternative music in the dining room. We could therefore hear all the other diners conversation. However, this was not a problem at all! We enjoyed the music, it just wasn't "romantic". This certainly did not detract from the experience. After dinner we were also treated to a plate of petit fours again in celebration of my husband's birthday! These small details made him feel very special without drawing too much attention! We slept well and enjoyed a lovely buffet style breakfast and a walk around the grounds after breakfast to walk off some of the delicious food! Check out was again efficient and the staff chatty and very pleasant. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, friendly and attentive! We couldn't have asked for a better stay and would not hesitate to recommend this venue! Thank you to all at Danesfield House. You made a newly 50 year old feel very special!

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertP7747, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Sam

A very happy belated birthday to your husband and thank you very much indeed for your excellent review and feedback! It is wonderful to read how welcome you were made to feel by the team and that you had such a brilliant stay and I am delighted that you appreciated all the little touches of detail. Danesfield is such an iconic place and it is perfect for celebrating all of life's wonderful occasions! Thank you once again and I do hope we will welcome you back for many more perfect stays!

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

I went with friends for afternoon tea today.
Fabulous surroundings and very welcoming at front door but sadly the food was a disappointment. Sandwich fillings were very sparse, scones were nice but cake selection was extremely poor. They looked as though the kitchen could be bothered. We mentioned this to someone who just shrugged and said 'it's the chefs choice'. A friend had been before and said it had been much better then. Not sure the service deserved the 15% service added to the bill

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank BiggestBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertP7747, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear BiggestBird

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read how welcome you were made to feel by our concierge team and also how much you appreciated the beautiful setting. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your afternoon tea experience and I know our Food & Beverage manager has since been in touch with you to address this personally. Thank you once again and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews