We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad..but could be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 17 September 2005

This hotel located across the street from the Beach State Park and Waterfront in Traverse City is perfect for quick access to the beach (it's across the street).

Service: The young lady who checked us in the evening we arrived was very nice and professional, but there was just something missing. Asked for a Non Smoking room and they didn't have one, so we spent 3 nights in a smoking room. Breakfast person was very friendly and provided great service. You can tell it was towards the end of the "season" and as in most tourist towns, the staff can be tired of being nice all summer.

Hotel: The room we were in was a smoking room, so we proceeded to do our best to make do. The furniture and fixtures in the room were dirty and was in bad need of a deep cleaning. Some of this can be pawned off on the smoke, but this went a little further.

Indoor pool and hot tub were both in great shape, parking lot was clean and well maintained, etc.

Breakfast: I don't care how bad anything is in this hotel, you just can't screw up breakfast! Thus, breakfast was a hit!

Overall, I'll stay somewhere else next time, but if your cruising through and need a place to sleep and move on the next day, stay. If your there for more then 1 night, I think there are better options in the area. With a lot of cleaning and a little more attention to customer service, they can improve.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank signature500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 760 of 761 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Toledo, OH
17
Reviewed 14 August 2005

We choose this hotel because the other hotels that are on the beach had no vacancies. This hotel is across the street from the public beach. Route 31 is very busy here and the cross walk is a about 1/4 mile down the road. We were able cross against the traffic, but I would't recommend it with little kids. You could drive to the beach but you need a park pass.
The room was large, quiet and comfortable. The desk went out of his way to accomodate a change in plans. The breakfast was better than most and had a good variety of food. My family really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mt. Pleasant, Michigan
19
Reviewed 30 June 2005

I called near the end of June to make reservations for the end of July. The lady who answered the phone was rude from the first words that came out of her mouth. I told her my name and asked her how she was doing and she said in a snotty tone, "fine". I then asked her about the weather and if it was raining and she blatantly said, "no". She looked up the requested dates to check for availability and after quoting me a price, she said that I would have to stay a minimum of two nights. I decided to book a room for two nights, even though I was not pleased with her attitude. She rushed me through the whole process and barely said goodbye after she gave me the confirmation number. I decided to call one more hotel to compare prices, etc. and the lady that answered at the next hotel had superior customer service skills. I ended up calling the Hampton Inn back to cancel my reservations in order to give my business to someone more deserving.

Stayed: June 2005
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinea19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
4.6 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.9 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
360 reviews
2.8 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: ₹ 5,647 - ₹ 15,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing