We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we'd expect - - and more!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
midwest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what we'd expect - - and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This Hampton is what we would expect from a Hampton.
Rooms are nice with a built in desk. Free wireless is great. The room was clean and fresh. The bathroom is a decent size. The air conditioner ran quietly.
We happened to be there when high winds came thru and the electricity went out during the night. In the morning, the staff made every effort to see that the guests were taken care of. They met us with flashlights and walked us through the breakfast area. They went above and beyond.
It is a little ways out of town and would be more convenient if it were nearer to the downtown, but that certainly isn't a deal-breaker. It's nice that it's directly across from a park area and the lake.
Would we stay here again? You bet!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letstravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    238
    116
    41
    24
See reviews for
190
252
26
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We recently were in Traverse City to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Hampton Inn. Speedy checkin. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little too soft. We enjoyed the full breakfast and all the other amenities including all day free coffe offered in the lobby. Conveniently located to all that Traverse City has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We would have loved to stay longer. Everything was as we've come to expect from a Hampton Inn. The room was impeccably clean and the beds very comfortable. We will choose this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The good: We were pleasantly surprised with the facilities in this hotel. Everything felt new. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and nicely done. Hallways and elevators were well maintained. According to one of the staff it was renovated 3 years ago.

The so-so:
Check in - I understand that things can get busy during check-in but it was not that busy when we checked in. The lady behind the counter acted impatient with my questions. Parking was limited because 3/4th of the lot was barricaded as they were seal coating the rest. This became inconvenient at first as guests arriving did not know where to go park. The employee seemed to expect that we knew where to go to park. It would have been nice if they warned me that parking was temporarily inconvenient due to the pavement project. My 2 cents is that especially hotel employees, customer service should be over the top since after all it is a hospitality industry.

Breakfast - Breakfast was good overall but the scrambled steak and eggs tasted greasy. I was also hoping there was an egg substitute for those watching their cholesterol but wanted to eat eggs. Otherwise, all other food was fine.

If not for the above experience, I would have rated this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frogtog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
243 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel is situated on the major road right through the heart of town and the beach is right across the street.
The staff were very helpful. The rooms very clean. Breakfast area was adequate even though the hotel was booked solid. Traverse City area has so much to offer we spent three nights here and could have spent much more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.8 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.6 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.2 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
1.0 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,318 - ₹ 20,714
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing