We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seriously needs attention” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Inn on the Bay
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seriously needs attention”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

i do hope the new owners will be updating...
Quaint, cozy with gorgeous grounds and very friendly owners...

HOWEVER:
beach is across a very busy 55mph main highway.

the motel room we booked was filthy and smelled of wet dogs with dust webs and balls everywhere. furniture was old, sticky with filth and falling apart. shower stall grout and curtain were stained with black mildew. mini fridge interior and coffee pot were not cleaned after previous occupant use.
no air conditioning unit - windows have to be opened but the screens are rusty and didn't fit snugly so bugs and/or the red squirrels (who entertained us playing in the ceilings at night) are free to roam in and out.
rooms are not insulated outside or in so exterior noise (busy highway) and/or any normal conversation in the next rooms are readily heard.

that being said;
the carpet was vacuumed and sheets, towels, sink and toilet were squeaky clean
the room contained a mini fridge, a brand new 19" flat screen tv w/cable tv access, full sized coffee pot w/coffee packets, Wi-Fi access was also available though the signal was intermittent and weak.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mityme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    18
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We enjoyed every bit of our stay at Anchor Inn. We expected a very small, simple room because we didn't plan to spend a lot of time there and opted for the least expensive choice. Upon arriving, however, we were pleasantly surprised by the kitchenette (which we used a few times) and the separate rooms for bed and living room area. We also loved the fireplace, though we didn't need to use it. The cottages each have a little eating area right out the front door with a grill and a picnic table. The grounds are beautiful and are a bit removed from the busiest strips around Grand Traverse Bay, making it quite the picture of serenity. The beach is a across a busy street, and it's not the greatest swimming beach, but we still swam a little to cool off and soak in the sun. I'll definitely look to stay here again the next time we go north. The only thing that could have perfected this place would be if we could bring our dogs along!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcoechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We reserved the last room available and were told it was the "little" room. Little it was, but fine. Quaint bedding, visibly clean except for a few spider webs. GREAT LOCATION. Minutes away from Suttons Bay and Traverse City. The was no AC, however, we stayed on a breezy uncommonly cool night. I can imagine it would be miserable on a hot evening. Since you're right next to your neighbors cabin there is NO privacy with all the open windows. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shottle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Just got back from an excellent vacation in Traverse City. We stayed for a week at the Anchor Inn. It is a great place for families and others to relax and enjoy beautiful Michigan. The cottages are rustic but very well maintained. Would definitely go back if ever visiting Michigan again!

  • Liked — new fresh towels and garbage collection daily included in the weekly rental
  • Disliked — the private beach wasn't the best
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank g739813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2005

...and unwind. Is right next to the lake beach. Is cottage vintage and quaint. Only problem...shampoo is not provided....I wish I knew before we got there. The cutlery and the utensils were in okay condition.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hsarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
10.6 km away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
10.0 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
10.8 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
5.0 km away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn on the Bay

Property: Anchor Inn on the Bay
Address: 12068 S West Bay Shore Dr, Traverse City, MI 49684-5260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,930 - ₹ 14,411
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn on the Bay is a quaint family style resort on the West Grand Traverse Bay - situated in a beautiful park like setting. You may choose from 1, 2 or bedroom cottages with full kitchens - or a unique motel room. All rooms are air conditioned. We are on M-22 just 2 miles north of Traverse City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing