We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just got back from a girls weekend in TC and stayed at Pointes North Friday & Saturday. I have to say, it was a very nice hotel. The rooms were clean, location very close to everything and the staff was very friendly. It is right on the beach and they make sure to have the chairs lined up and ready to go each morning. No elevators so lugging up suit cases to the third floor was less than pleasant but overall it was a very nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracybozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    109
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
52
181
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Nice views of the bay, sand beach, heated pool, clean spacious room....what more could you want? A COMFORTABLE BED! This place was meeting our expectations until we turned down the covers. The mattress was hard and lumpy. So much so that on the last night of our stay, we decided to pack and leave before bedtime. We just couldn't take it one more night. It is a shame because we honestly thought the hotel was a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CmyPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend and will never be back. The soft white duvets shown on their website is what caught my attention when I was searching for a place to stay but they don't exist. The bed spreads were clearly over 25 years old in their vibrant 90's colours. False advertising! We were on the first floor overlooking the pool which means the pool is literally right outside your room, so we had to keep our drapes drawn for any sort of privacy. Our room was musty and smoky smelling. There were flies everywhere. The bathrooms are configured poorly and has a slight curtain to separate it from the bedroom. Not ideal when you have 2 teenage kids. The beds need major upgrading. The TV is too small for the room. The hotel has no amenities - no vending machines, no games room, breakfast is lame - boxes of cereal and a few bagels. Can't beat the Sugar Beach! Front desk staff screwed up our bill when we checked out and overcharged us by$45 which I had to calculate for them. No security after 10 pm. They lock up the pool area with a bolt lock. We were by the beach and when we tried to get back to our room via the patio door, we couldn't get back in. Our son had to jump the fence - as did the people in the other neighbouring rooms.This disgusting room ruined our entire weekend. They will never see me again. At $220 a night, I can get the best room in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fabs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

In April of this year we made a reservation to this hotel for a 3-nite stay in July. We asked for a 1st floor room which gave us easy acess to the beach and was told one was available. We received a confirmation stating we would get a 1st floor room. When we arrived in July we were given a room on the 3rd floor, in the corner, farthest from the beach. It would have been nice to know that a 1st floor room was not available and not make us drive 5 hrs. If you make a reservation there, make sure you're getting what you ask for before traveling there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadi883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids mi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed for three nights and we were surprised at the size of the room, a queen bed, sofa, refrigerator, microwave, wine glasses and of course a jacuzzi. The view of the bay and the beach from our covered porch was the best. The room was clean and the girls at the front desk were very friendly. Will stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djhGrandRapidsMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.2 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
6.5 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
4.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.6 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.3 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Property: Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,844 - ₹ 14,138
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing