We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice little place to stay and you can have your dog. We had a one bedroom with a kitchenette. Everything was very clean and we had all the kitchen utinsels needed to prepare a little breakfast in the morning before we left. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. This is our 3rd time staying and we will definetely stay with them again. What a pleasure to have a nice place to stay that doesn't break the bank. So appreciated!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    73
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
72
109
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We came to Traverse City for a family get-together and stayed for the night. Check in was easy and manager was very friendly. Our room had 2 bedrooms - a queen size downstairs and a king size with a jacuzzi upstairs. The room had a kitchenette with dishes, pans, coffee maker, paper towel, etc. The main area had a couch, table and chairs, and tv.

It was an excellent value, especially with the winter rate. The bed was really comfortable - we slept great. The only thing I noticed is that the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. Other than that - everything was perfect. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starchild101
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very pleased with our stay at the Traverse Bay Inn. We had the 2 bedroom suite (which is all that was availble) and it was like staying in a small apartment. (and it was still VERY reasonably priced!)

Our room had an upstairs loft that had 2 beds and television. Lower level had a quaint living room area with couch, kitchen table a small kitchenette and flat screen tv. Also on the lower level there was a second bedroom with yet another tv. How awesome is that, 3 tvs in your room! There was lots of closet space, I think there were 3 closests. Beds were comfey, and I believe between the 3 beds we had 9 to 10 fluffy pillows! Room also had iron, ironing board, hair dryer, and a coffee maker with a couple of coffee packets.

Only negative was the small bathroom, but really how much time do you spend in the bathroom. Water pressure in the shower was good. TIP: others have mentioned no counter space in the bathroom for their toilettrees. However, check the mirror, it opens up with shelving for all of your stuff.

Will be back here next time we are in Traverse City. Great bargin, good location and friendly staff to boot! Wish we would have stayed here sooner! Like the sign says out front, FUN!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank starchild101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Of course. it's not the Ritz, but it was clean, nicely equipped with kitchenette. The beds were comfy and the linens of higher quality than I anticipated. The only negative was the teeny, tiny bathroom and body-hugging shower curtain, however, since I only used it once a day, I could overlook it. Our room had one bedroom downstairs and a large room with two full size beds upstairs. This would be a nice setup for a family. The woman at the front desk, who seemed to wear many hats, was very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioJayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soo, ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Found this place thru the great reputation it has on TA and just want to confirm that it lives up to everything. Clean, kitchen equiped with everything you need, 3 tv's, lots of closet space, parking at your front door, I will stay there everytime I go to Traverse city now!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primitivepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.0 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 km away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.3 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.4 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,942 - ₹ 15,575
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing