We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food with High Prices”

Harrington's By The Bay
Ranked #32 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: There is just something about Harrington’s By The Bay. Graciously sitting across from the beautiful shores of West Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City, Michigan, At Harrington’s By The Bay, you’ll find a delicious lunch menu featuring: steak burgers, house made soups and salads…..over a half dozen salads all served with a variety of signature custom dressings. Many of our sandwiches are served on house made bread and even our lunch portion sizes are sure to leave you satisfied. Vegetarians will be impressed with options from our fresh start choices, sandwiches, salads, and pasta and specialty items on both our lunch and dinner menu. Our dinner menu is sure to amaze with both its quality and its variety. Much of our menu is chosen from the finest cattle graded PRIME by the US Department of Agriculture and hand cut all our steaks in house. Whether you choose our tenderloin of beef, New York Strip, or melt in your mouth rib-eye; you will be planning your next meal with us before you finish your first. For our seafood lovers we offer wild caught salmon, fresh Great Lake’s walleye, to die for crab cakes, perfectly prepared Scallops Rockefeller, and much more. Whether you’re a beef, chicken, pork or pasta lover, we have a meal you’ll enjoy! Happy Hour is truly Happy Hours in our lounge as it is ALWAYS happy hour in the Red 8 Lounge. With a special small plates menu, discounted and well-crafted $3 drinks, $5.5 glasses of our house wines (cabernet, chardonnay, merlot, pinot noir, pinot grigio and more), House Bloody Mary, House Bellini, and other options will satisfy your thirst. With DirectTV, Sunday Ticket,and 4 flat-screen TVs we can put your game on so you can remain your team's biggest fan. Whether you dine indoors or outdoors, we believe that award winning meals must be served with award winning service and that is just what you will find at Harrington’s. Our amazing team not only loves what they do, they love sharing the Harrington’s By The Bay experience with you. This leaves us back where we started. There is just something great about Harrington’s By The Bay.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Food with High Prices”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I ordered the lake perch for lunch and was shocked at receiving five small pieces of perch, each no larger than the size of a sardine. The perch had an overwhelming taste of cooking oil. The side of coleslaw was bitter, such as old cabbage. Bread was not even offered, and one had to ask because it is only served at dinner. I was very disappointed with the quality of the food and would never go back!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    106
    46
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
“Perfect Ambiance”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

What a treat! Dropped in Harrington's for a glass of wine with friends and treated to a very special experience. Owner John McGee made excellent wine suggestions and even gave us a tour of the beautiful hand built wine cellar! The appetizers in the bar were specially priced and great tasting! The working staff were attentive and clearly enjoy the place, as several were there visiting after shift. Can't wait to celebrate Valentine's Day there next week!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkelly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suttons Bay, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best walleye in TC!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The walleye is new on the menu and is fabulous. It is skinned - no other restaurant in town does this. Served with a wonderful bourbon pecan sauce and NO bones! The ahi tuna is new also and got a rave review. Lovely atmosphere and friendly service. This is a must-try place in TC...skip the standard tourist-y restaurants and go to Harrington's. Johnny and Glen will be sure you have a great experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prime choice for the best beef around the bay!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were lucky enough to drop in for dinner and had one of the best dining experiences ever in theTraverse Bay area. Food and service totally first rate! Amazing steaks and prime ribs. Very pleasant evening all around.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday Brunch & Kids Eat Free!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We headed to Harrington's for the first time to try their Sunday brunch. What a treat! The food was delicious, the service was excellent and the views are unsurpassed. The made-to-order omelets were the best I've ever had. The hot dishes were varied and delicious, and there was also fresh fruit, salads and dessert. When I asked if they had any waffles, the manager made sure the kitchen made one and delivered it to our table. It was a real treat to enjoy brunch for 14.99 and the kids under 12 eat free! There were lots of families with kids, and everyone seemed to enjoy it. We had two 11-year old boys who thought the chocolate fountain was the best thing they'd ever seen! They loved dipping fruit, marshmallows and rice krispy treats. They even took photos on it and put it on their phones. Definitely will head there again before they turn 12! Great place for locals or tourists visiting the Traverse City area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindylynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrington's By The Bay also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Harrington's By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing