We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Sterling Heights/Detroit Area
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My family and I rented one room for the night. It was dirty, and I didn't let any of the kids touch anything because there was some guys "stuff" that was squirted from one of the walls on the side of one of the beds in our room. I mean, how could the cleaning crew not see it and clean it off?? The room smelled incredibly bad. We all wished we stayed somewhere else. We skipped out on the breakfast which was bread, and lender like bagels.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

I frequently stay at cheap hotels, especially in the Wyndham chains. For the price, I would seriously consider staying here more often. It is MUCH cleaner and well maintained than the nearby Knights Inn and slightly nicer than the Roseville Super 8.

I only stayed one night. I was upgraded for free to an Executive Room which was very spacious and included a small table with 2 chairs as well as a 2nd sink outside the bathroom. It was beat up like any hotel in this price range, but at least efforts were made to at least try. The front desk staff were very nice. The breakfast bar closes at 9am; I arrived around 8:45 and had very little to choose from (a few cereals, one bagel, milk, coffee). My breakfast choices at the Roseville Super 8 have been better. I probably could have requested other items from their stock, though. I would stay again, especially getting a discount through the Entertainment Book.

Room Tip: Exterior doors are not locked at night. If this is a concern, ask for a room near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed 2. Nights at the super 8 sterling heights. Hotel is old both inside and out. Rooms do have a fridge and microwave and free wi-fi. We booked through hotwire and paid $38 per night. Guess we should not complain. Room lacked good lighting and had a musty smell. Furnishings were old and outdated. Carpet and furnishings really need replacing. Breakfast is not worth eating. Very basic and not all appealing. We ate breakfast up the road at Tim Hortons....

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

You definitely get what u pay for here...none of the surfaces had been cleaned, there were yellow stains on the whote towels, and the bathroom.had this.weird slime on the walls and floors. Not the best, but cheap is cheap.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BranCorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit area
11
Reviewed 18 June 2005

Staff was very rude, yelled at customers and even overcharged some people I talked with. There are little to no amenities. You can't even make a 1-800 call without a $10 deposit. I know its a "cheap motel" but there is no reason for the rudeness. It was very loud at night with people partying into the wee hours. If you can, get a room on the second floor with the double beds. It's cleaner. Also looks like quite a few people live in the motel. For $45 a night I guess you get what you pay for, but I would pay the extra $20 or so more to stay somewhere a bit nicer with better customer service.

Stayed: June 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 7 in Sterling Heights
339 reviews
8.9 km away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
222 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sterling Heights-Detroit Area
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ste...
#2 of 7 in Sterling Heights
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
0.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#4 of 7 in Sterling Heights
151 reviews
1.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warren MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sterling Heights/Detroit Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sterling Heights/Detroit Area

Address: 34550 Van Dyke Ave, Hwy 53 & 15 Mile Road, Sterling Heights, MI 48312-4653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sterling Heights
Price Range: ₹ 3,447 - ₹ 5,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sterling Heights/Detroit Area 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sterling Heights/Detroit Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Sterling Heights
Super Eight Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Super Eight
Sterling Heights Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing