We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
26
10
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeople watchfront porchthe perfect place to stayroom was clean and comfortablethe inn keeperjaneweekend
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2010

If you're looking for a fancy hotel with large rooms and closets, this might not be the Inn for you. But if you're looking for a casual atmosphere in a great location with the opportunity to meet new friends, this is the place for you.
Of course, there is a lot to do in Saugatuck. Then, after a day at the beach, to the wineries, hiking the dunes, or shopping, the front porch of the Inn is the perfect place to relax with a glass of wine and get to know the interesting people staying there. Everyone has his/her own interesting story. We have made many wonderful friends on that front porch.
The breakfast is terrific and plentiful. My wife and I have breakfast at the inn and then a late lunch. We never have a full dinner (maybe ice cream at Charlie's and a cookie at Uncommon Grounds.
We're not late night party people, but it's a great location for those that are and there are so many events in town; you can part your car for 3 days and walk everywhere.
I've read some of the older reviews and frankly can't believe they're describing the same place. If you haven't tried the Victorian Inn recently, I urge you to give it a try.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phaskitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We arrived in Saugatuck Saturday morning and immediately wanted to stay as it is Michigan's Key West on a smaller scale...
Many B&B's were fully booked, so we checked available rooms at a half-dozen sites. Some were priced better than the Victorian Inn, but were older and didn't have the warmth of the Victorian. Hence, we decided to go with the victorian because the innkeeper was quite warm and we liked their eclectic decorating. We choose the king suite (#4) over a queen suite (#7) for its size, although the queen was fine. The king suite has a nice 3 window view, fireplace, good sq/footage, but a tiny 9" TV! The B&B is tidy, but not thoroughly clean. An edging tool on their vacuum is needed to get edges and corners as accumulated dust/debris is noticable. Additionally, the place should be dusted a bit better and windows cleaned. The keys to get in the rooms and front door require a little work--not smooth. The bed was comfy. Regarding breakfast, if you are expecting a big spread, you might want to go somewhere else or bring something with you. The food was ok, with little variety. Additionally, no treats or evening snacks were provided. I've had better pampering at standard hotels. I feel the innkeepers need to step up their game and provide a bit more for their guests for the pricing they charge. The place was cozy and nice, just overpriced for no amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeingWhatsNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Rude owner - comes off just plain arrogant. Not a welcome feeling at all. Made our stay very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very minimal. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrosas324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The perfect place to spend an autumn weekend getaway! This bed & breakfast is located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, just a short walk to all of the shops, wine tasting, restaurants, parks, and waterfront. We had a beautiful weekend - Just cool enough in the evenings for a fleece and warm enough during the day to enjoy the outdoors. The front porch was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the amazing weather.
Breakfast was served each day between 9 and 10. The first morning we enjoyed homemade broccoli quiche with pistachio bread, OJ, and coffee. Yogurt and fruit salad were also available. The second morning we enjoyed cheese souffle with raspberry sauce, an unexpected but delicious combination! We also had raspberry bread with OJ and coffee. Again yogurt and fruit salad were also options.
We spent little time in the room, but for the amount we were there, it was comfortable and everything we needed.
We enjoyed Baily and Maggie May, the two small dogs who reside at this home. They were friendly and well behaved.
Friday night the Inn wasn't full, but the beauty of the weekend drew more visitors Saturday night and the Inn filled up. We shared breakfast with 2 of the other couples who were also young couples visiting for the weekend.
While visiting, we also recommend apple picking at Crane's Orchard followed by a piece of their amazing pie. We also enjoyed creating a glass art piece at the Express Yourself Art Barn that we proudly display at our home as a memory of our 1st anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Inn this past Labor Day Weekend to celebrate a birthday and recent marriage and thought it was great. We visit Saugatuck often and always wanted to stay there because of its location and that fantastic front porch - we would always see guests sitting out there and looking like they are really having an enjoyable time. We spent some time each of the 3 evenings on the porch chatting and drinking a glass of winie with some of the other guests and owners and it was really nice and relaxing. The owners were very friendly and had a great sense of humor, and the breakfasts were wonderful. We found the place very quiet, very clean, and just the perfect place to stay while in the area. The range of ages staying while we were there were couples in their 20's and up and everyone seemed to love it. We will definitely return and have already recommended it to others who are planning trips to Saugatuck.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank BandR727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews