We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
26
10
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
9
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Rude owner - comes off just plain arrogant. Not a welcome feeling at all. Made our stay very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very minimal. Not worth the price.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrosas324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The perfect place to spend an autumn weekend getaway! This bed & breakfast is located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, just a short walk to all of the shops, wine tasting, restaurants, parks, and waterfront. We had a beautiful weekend - Just cool enough in the evenings for a fleece and warm enough during the day to enjoy the outdoors. The front porch was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the amazing weather.
Breakfast was served each day between 9 and 10. The first morning we enjoyed homemade broccoli quiche with pistachio bread, OJ, and coffee. Yogurt and fruit salad were also available. The second morning we enjoyed cheese souffle with raspberry sauce, an unexpected but delicious combination! We also had raspberry bread with OJ and coffee. Again yogurt and fruit salad were also options.
We spent little time in the room, but for the amount we were there, it was comfortable and everything we needed.
We enjoyed Baily and Maggie May, the two small dogs who reside at this home. They were friendly and well behaved.
Friday night the Inn wasn't full, but the beauty of the weekend drew more visitors Saturday night and the Inn filled up. We shared breakfast with 2 of the other couples who were also young couples visiting for the weekend.
While visiting, we also recommend apple picking at Crane's Orchard followed by a piece of their amazing pie. We also enjoyed creating a glass art piece at the Express Yourself Art Barn that we proudly display at our home as a memory of our 1st anniversary!

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Inn this past Labor Day Weekend to celebrate a birthday and recent marriage and thought it was great. We visit Saugatuck often and always wanted to stay there because of its location and that fantastic front porch - we would always see guests sitting out there and looking like they are really having an enjoyable time. We spent some time each of the 3 evenings on the porch chatting and drinking a glass of winie with some of the other guests and owners and it was really nice and relaxing. The owners were very friendly and had a great sense of humor, and the breakfasts were wonderful. We found the place very quiet, very clean, and just the perfect place to stay while in the area. The range of ages staying while we were there were couples in their 20's and up and everyone seemed to love it. We will definitely return and have already recommended it to others who are planning trips to Saugatuck.

Date of stay: September 2007
Thank BandR727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We booked a room here for a long weekend in Saugatuck. From the reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect, but it seems that some people just aren't used to B&B's, or perhaps aren't open-minded enough to appreciate the personal, homey atmosphere here. The exterior of the home is beautiful, and the great porch is one of the best features of the house- you could sit for hours just sipping wine, people-watching and chatting with Bob (which some of us did!). The uptairs rooms are not the most spacious I have seem, but in Saugatuck- who wants to spend the whole trip in the room anyway?? They were clean, well-appointed and more than adequate for us. We never heard anything from neighboring rooms, as some other reviews have mentioned. Breakfast was served either out on the back porch or in the inn's pretty kitchen. All six of us who stayed thought the food was great- cheese blintz, fresh seasonal fruit, homemade breads, plus the usual cereal, yogurt, etc.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. Jan and Bob were very friendly and helpful (and Bailey, the dog, is a little sweetie). If you're looking for a standard chain hotel, or expect a lavish suite, this probably isn't the place for you. It feels more like staying at a good friend's house. We had a great time enjoying all that the Victorian Inn and Saugatuck have to offer, and we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanders30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

Based on some of the reviews on this web site I would say these folks had unreasonable expectations or stayed in a different "Victorian Inn". This B&B was clean and nicely decorated with artifacts from the many trips to Africa made by the Innkeepers. The Innkeepers were friendly and gracious. I suppose breakfast could be considered ho-hum if you consider fresh fruits, freshly baked breads, quiches and cheese blintz soufflé to be ho-hum. Certainly beats the ordinary scrambled eggs!

Bailey the dog, was friendly but I never saw any chair-leg humping going on as one critic on this web site alleged…the dog being "horny". Bailey is a cute and friendly dog…and that comes from a cat lover.

Walking down the hall, yes you might hear voices from neighboring rooms but never once did we hear a neighbor from our room and the house was full. Guess what…I’ve had the same experience at the Drake in Chicago!!

Perhaps some folks expect a 5-star hotel when they stop at a B&B. I suggest they stay at the 5-star and above all, don’t travel Scotland or Ireland, at least if you do don’t stay at B&B’s. You will be disappointed.

Victorian Inn, a great place to stay, friendly inn keepers and the front porch is a great place to enjoy a glass of good single malt, a fine cigar and people watch!.

We’ll be back.

Bob & Chris
Michigan

Date of stay: July 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MichiganCane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews