We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Valentine is a little bit of heaven...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentine Lodge

Valentine Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valentine Lodge
Ranked #19 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Valentine is a little bit of heaven...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

...not too far from Chicago. I have been going to this beautiful B&B for 40 years now, and I look forward to the trip every year. The property and gardens are simply gorgeous, and the owners are kind, interesting, personable, and truly make each stay a wonderful experience. It is a very relaxing setting with delicious homemade breakfasts, minutes from downtown Saugatuck and Douglas. Love the walk to the beach and the warm welcome I get very time I return. I highly recommend this charming home away from home. Thank you, Peggy and Al for all you do for your guests.

Room Tip: The Valentina is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amygirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    0
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was my third (or fourth?) trip to Saugatuck and I loved staying at the Valentine Lodge, it's my new favorite! I needed some R&R as a break from the busy Chicago life and I sure got it in the beautiful Valentine Lodge. The room was very clean and felt like home (though much nicer than my apartment!), and the breakfast was delicious. I ate a ton which gave me lots of energy to go for bike rides, down to the beach, and explore the downtown area which is by the river and great to walk around and get drinks or food. The owners were very friendly and interesting and we talked about painting, traveling, among other things, and I also found the other guests to be very friendly and fun to speak with at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullsfan2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Came here for some serenity and certainly was not disappointed. Stayed five (5) nights. Valentine Lodge was a home away from home. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was delightful and extremely clean. Beautiful and quiet setting. Weekend breakfast was a hot breakfast consisting of three delicious quiches, fresh fruit, homemade breads, fruit yogurt, fresh coffee & orange juice. Our breakfast thru the week was more on the continential side with fresh fruit, homemade breads, cereal, yogurt, coffee & orange juice. Close to Douglas & Oval beaches. We loved this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

The Valentine Lodge has a great location; near Lakeshore Drive and Oval Beach. The room we had was fine. BUT... the parking is on the lawn, and we soon found out why there were so few guests there in August. The couple who run the place don't really seem to care whether they have guests or not. It is really false advertising to call it a B and B, because during the week there is no breakfast to speak of. Set out on the porch was cold cereal, milk, a few blueberries, and a pot of lousy coffee. That was it!!! No juice, no bread, no muffins, no nothing! They do NOT make it clear on their website that weekday breakfast is continental only, and a bad one at that. We had to go out for breakfast both days we stayed there. What a disappointment! We will NEVER go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank klschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.8 km away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 km away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
1.4 km away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.6 km away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.6 km away
The Saugatuck Resort Motel
The Saugatuck Resort Motel
#3 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine Lodge

Property: Valentine Lodge
Address: 653 Campbell Rd, Saugatuck, MI 49453-8407
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing