We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Bay Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Oak Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This was our eighth stay at the Guest House and once again it was enjoyable. Lori is always very welcoming and she serves up great breakfasts. The new owner Duncan was a pleasure to meet for the first time. We're usually over in Victoria once or twice a year and always stay here. Highly recommend for a nice quiet get away.

Room Tip: We love the "Romance" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Oak Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

We are so pleased that you like it here in our nice peaceful corner of Oak Bay and keep coming back. Lori is always happy to meet and greet people and she is a fantastic cook! The Oak Bay Guest House breakfasts always receive great reviews. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2016

Each room is done in a different style and named accordingly.
The place is immaculate.
The fireplace in a living room is on all the time. The Times Colonist is waiting for you to do sudoku, crossword puzzle etc.
Duncan, the owner and the staff are most accommodating making sure that you feel like royalty. The fresh flowers (like for eg. freesia) is such a beautiful touch (on the breakfast tables) and much appreciated. Thank you for being a gracious host.

Room Tip: Check the website, the Oak Bay is magical, quiet, elegant and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danuta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Oak Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

You're most welcome. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Good luck with your new adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We understand this place is under new management. We had a comfortable stay. If we had stayed longer we would have made use of the lovely upstairs lounge. Breakfast was very good and we were given home made muffins to enjoy during our travels.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Owner at Oak Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Yes the lounge upstairs is really lovely, especially in the spring when the trees are in blossom. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and muffins too, we get lots of good comments about those. We hope you will come back and stay longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I had a very enjoyable stay. Lori welcomed me and showed me to my room. They have free wifi and a code to get in through the front door. It is situated in a quiet lovely neighbourhood. My room was nice and comfy and had everything I needed. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and portions are very generous: choice of juices, fruit or fruit with yogurt, eggs Benedict with ham or vegetarian, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. All delicious and served with a friendly smile. I was going kayaking and Lori even offered me the option of an earlier breakfast (which I didn't need but I appreciated the offer. When I came back after lunch to pick up my suitcase, Lori had a note inviting me to use my room to freshen up after kayaking. This even though checkout is before noon. Very considerate. Oak Bay is a lovely area and there are quite a few restaurants within walking distance. A lovely stay. I highly recommend this B&B! Thank Alors and team!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Mishka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We have stayed at this B&B multiple times. The property is the only B&B in Oak Bay and is situated in a lovely neighborhood within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and art galleries. It is a short drive to downtown Victoria and has free parking. The inn is very comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are very good and are served in a quaint old dining room. We will return, but know we need to book ahead as it is popular!!

Room Tip: Request rooms based on bed sizes and bathroom needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USCalgarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bay
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Guest House

Address: 1052 Newport Ave, Oak Bay, British Columbia V8S 5E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Oak Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bay
Price Range: ₹ 6,487 - ₹ 10,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet, safe community of Oak Bay, where wealthy Victorians have been escaping the hustle and bustle of Victoria's Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel for over a hundred years. Be only minutes (and a world) away from all the Victoria has to offer. This Victoria Bed and Breakfast, located in BC, Canada, is a gracious 1912 Victorian Home. The home was converted to the Newport Inn in 1922 and has been accommodating travelers to Victoria since then. There are 9 rooms and 2 suites, all with private bathrooms (10 of the bathrooms are en suite). Free breakfast. Sun lounge is perfect for an afternoon cup of tea or snack. A fireside lounge is cozy for an evening glass of wine. Oak Bay is a walkers paradise. Easy walking distance to Oak Bay Village, Oak Bay Beach Hotel, Oak Bay Marina, Victoria Golf Club, Royal Victoria Yacht Club, Willow Beach and almost countless parks. Close to University of Victoria and Camosun. Enjoy the tranquility of a traditional English home in the heart of Oak Bay Village, steps from the Salish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Oak Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Guest House Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing