We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish tacos ever!”
Review of Jose's Cantina

Jose's Cantina
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 18
Description: We are a full serve Mexican restaurant. Our head chef Roberto Gallo has received awards for his Great Lakes Whitefish Tacos and many rave reviews about his sauces all made from scratch.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a full serve Mexican restaurant. Our head chef Roberto Gallo has received awards for his Great Lakes Whitefish Tacos and many rave reviews about his sauces all made from scratch.
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for a late dinner and enjoyed the best tacos I've ever had! The restaurant decor was very pleasant and the little bar area adorable.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank CLFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Waiter was good but food was not warm. The white fish tacos didn't taste fresh. Not crispy no cheese and cool. The jalepeno appetizer had no spice, tasted like green peppers with cheese. Food came out quickly so am surprised it wasn't warm. Nice atmosphere and chips and salsa we're good along with service. But we came for a meal and was disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2017
3  Thank Relax690033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

WAY too much food for one person! Excellent food, great service, beautiful view and close to our hotel! The shrimp casadillas were fantastic, as were the strawberry margaritas!

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank jcg831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo F, Hostess at Jose's Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

We're so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Overall good food and the prices are decent. They have a full service bar and outdoor seating as well. It is an "upper Michigan" pace so don't expect the service staff to run around quickly. Overall, good food and good prices. My hats off to the Chicken Habenaro dish. Great sauce.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank MichiganMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo F, Hostess at Jose's Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the great review. I know Upper Michigan is known for a slower pace lifestyle I didn't know it was reflected in our server's pace. We're glad you enjoyed everything else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

While spending the afternoon July 27, 2017 taking in St. Ignace, MI, my wife and I wanted to stop at a waterfront place to have lunch. With being on the straits between Lakes Michigan and Huron we thought we would have a fair amount of places to chose from. That wasn't the case. We drove by Jose's heading out of town, then turned around to head back because Jose's presented a real nice presentation street side compared to the few other choices. As we were walking in a sweet young couple was walking out and the guy holds the door for us and says " you have to try the Whitefish tacos, they're amazing"!. We were promptly seated on their deck/patio overlooking Lake Huron on a beautiful warm afternoon. Walking through the restaurant to the deck I noticed and commented to my wife how spotlessly clean the restaurant was. This is something I look for at every dining establishment we go to. We each ordered Corona Lights at $5.50 apiece. We were also served immediately tortilla chip and salsa that was actually more like a mole. The chips were fresh and crisp and tasted home made. The sauce had a perfect blend of spice and heat with out burning your palate. Looking at the clean and very orderly and well placed menu I could of ordered everything on it. But, with both of us being fish taco fans, and having the beautiful view of one of the Great Lakes known in the region for their Whitefish, and taking in the review given to us of the Whitefish Taco's, we could not order anything else. At $14.50 each plate we were not disappointed! Three flash fried taco's that look better than the picture shown on this web site. Perfect hard shell tortilla with fresh hot fish topped with what tasted like a pickled red slaw. Sides of refried beans and coleslaw complimented the taco's perfectly. Our server was around to bring water on request and refill our Corona's when needed. While dining we met Jose's (I'm sure not his real name) as he struck up a conversation with everyone dining on the patio that afternoon. This was one reason we feel that everything was done to a "T" at Jose's with the owner being there early in the afternoon and engaging all of the guests to his restaurant. If you head up to the Michigan U.P. and stop in St. Ignace do yourself a favor and stop in at Jose's. You won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank trever08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo F, Hostess at Jose's Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

We are so pleased with this perfect review. Thank you for all the wonderful comments about everything you experienced. We take pride and pleasure in serving our cutomers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose's Cantina also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Jose's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing