We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable!”

Bessie's Homemade Pasties
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: ph (906)643-8487
Restaurant details
Description: ph (906)643-8487
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I arrived on a Sunday night. We couldn't find anything in town we were looking for while we were driving around town, then behold! We found Bessie's sign and seen she was open, we went in and ordered the pasty plate with Cole slaw and gravy. It was just what we were looking for. This is why we cross the bridge folks,to find good food at affordable prices and to eat the foods Michigan is famous for. Bessie's does not disappoint! Pastys & gravy were hot and delicious, Cole slaw was very good too and the service was excellent! The ladies that run the restaurant are very nice, hospitable and friendly. You can even ask them about other good places in the area go eat. I would definitely return!

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank OlivetBonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

They were out of just about everything. With that being said it was the end of the season. Pasties were good. We had the yooper and the vegi. They were okay. Nothing to write home about for sure.

Service was fantastic.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank mattsF2741BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Are reading the reviews, this place was a huge dissapointment. My French grandmother used to make the most awesome pasties and I was hoping for something close. Well these weren't even. The service was so bad that one couple got up and left while we were there and another couple who arrived some time after we did were served and almost finished before ours arrived. Mine should have been called a potato pastie as it was chock full of little potato cubes and four lone little bits of flakes of chicken. The crust was doughy, tough and very undercooked. The beef one my companion had was in their words - tasteless and "icky", with the same tough tough and chewy underdone crust and another five pounds of potatoes went it that one as well. We did have a fond time remembering grams and her wonderful pasties especially at Christmas, that was the only good part of the experience. All our waitresses could talk about was closing down for the season. Too bad for us you didn't close sooner. I do not see how this place was rated as it was. This was the second place that we thought was too highly rated in town. We were told that there was a much better place on HWY 2 Lehtos, that is far better. Unfortunately we did not get a chance this trip to verify this, but will when we visit in the spring.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Wohali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The first place we went after checking in to our motel. The pasties were great... mine with ketchup, hubbies with gravy. They came out super fast, and hot. I was pleasantly surprised to see vernors on the menu.

Thanks so much!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Rista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

When visiting the Upper Peninsula of Michigan it is a sin not to enjoy one of their famous "Pasties". We have tried pasties at several different restaurants and few have disappointed. Bessie's is small and old with limited seating. However, the ladies that were working when we visited were wonderfully nice and attentive. Our pasties with gravy and cole slaw were outstanding. We would definitely return if ever in St Ignace.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank DonByle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bessie's Homemade Pasties also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Bessie's Homemade Pasties? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing