We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a pleasant one night getaway it was delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montague Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montague Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Saginaw B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“For a pleasant one night getaway it was delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I were given a gift certificate to the Inn for our anniversary so we went online and read the reviews. We were surprised by the wide variety of views, some really good and some not so good so we were looking forward to our stay and knew we would be writing a review. The gal who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. She saw the gift certificate was for more than the cost of our room so she offered us a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. We asked for recommendations for restaurants in the area for dinner and she not only made a few, but printed out the menus for us. Naomi showed us to our room and around the Inn and explained the times for breakfast, 8am-10am and we felt right at home. Our room was beautiful, the Mary Sage, which she said was the original owners daughters room. The bed was very comfortable to us (very firm mattress which we loved). For those who complain about the paint peeling off the walls in places, sure, it could be a little more polished in places but it was built in 1926... they told us at breakfast... and if it was in pristine shape, the rooms would be a lot more expensive! We found the experience delightful and the staff very friendly and we would go there again if we were in the area. I guess the one drawback is that Saginaw has seen better days and there didn't seem to be that much to do in the area besides go out for a great meal. Thanks for a very nice time Montague staff.

Room Tip: Mary Sage had firm king mattress, beautiful view of grounds, huge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    6
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We've stayed at the Montague Inn many times. It's our favorite place to stay in Saginaw. I love to stay in the carriage house. For us it offered the comforts of the b&b with the additional privacy we like to have. Everyone here is very friendly. I can't say a single negative thing about the Montague Inn. The food, the property, the rooms, the staff... everything is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepig112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The house is gorgeous and it was fun to look around it. But that was the high point of our 2-night stay. Don't stay on the third floor in the summer--the AC is insufficient. Our bed was very creaky and the mattress badly needed to be replaced. Both of us had back aches and slept very poorly. To be a top-notch place to stay, some updates are really needed. This is not a B&B, so don't expect breakfast. There was no dinner available at all while we were there. There were, however, loud groups of people on the patio until 1 in the morning. The neighborhood didn't worry us--it's not exactly a residential area, but it's not that bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeneric717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed last weekend at the Montague and it was a delightful experience. We were not able to have dinner as we had come to Saginaw for a benefit performance at the White Crow Conservatory and time did not permit both. The staff was warm and welcoming; Naomi showed us thru the entire place.

The location is perfect and the grounds are well maintained.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. The Montague has a new chef, Jonothan Matousak, and his presentation rivaled that of many top notch hotels where we have stayed. There were 3 couples in our party and the staff encouraged us to linger and visit for as long as we wanted. The food was great; if the quiche was frozen as another reviewer stated-(which I am sure it was not)-I would love to know where they purchased it.

Thr room we stayed in was charming. I felt the Inn was very well maintained and obviously well cared for and loved.

All in all, it was a great experience and I hope to attend both the White Crow Conservatory of Music and stay at the Montague again in the near future. I will feel as if I am with old, dear friends at both places.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilchMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

Very classy and extremely well-kept and well-managed bed and breakfast. A step back in time in this spectacular 12,000 sq. ft. mansion built in 1929-30. The rooms are neat and clean. Beds comfy. Staff is wonderful. And the food...oh my gosh...the food alone would merit a visit. We drove down from Traverse City and will come back again. Any excuse will do!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomabe329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saginaw
3.8 km away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
19.7 km away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
23.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
7.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Inn

Property: Montague Inn
Address: 1581 S Washington Ave, Saginaw, MI 48601-2877
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saginaw
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,509 - ₹ 11,084
Hotel Class:3 star — Montague Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montague Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing