We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
47
23
7
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
23
7
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake huron fire pit onion rings room was large on site restaurant charcoal grill beach access a great stay would definitely stay here again bonfire waterslides michigan
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Camp Inn Lodge Restaurant is a comfortable, reasonably priced restaurant with great food and friendly service. The cast iron skillet dinners are delicious and generously portioned. If you have Nicole for a waitress you will be sure to have a pleasant experience. She is sweet, cheerful and happy to please!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

One of the only resorts places in Oscoda that allow pets. Older property with a warm and welcoming front desk staff. Received Trip Advisor Awards for 2015, 2016, & 2017.
Very comfy front room welcoming room to sit and relax, read, and text. However, our room (pet room) number 55 was a disappointment. In the bathroom up and down the door frame in the bathroom was an ugly, terrible looking spray of something that looked very bad. The room was large and basically good, but the carpet was outdoor carpet that was damp from being so thin to the cement floor that it covered. Everywhere we walked showed signs of deferred maintenance. The long dark hallways with low ceilings were depressing. The restaurant was closed on Sunday which was odd as this entire area is a tourist area and one would think the dining room would be open the entire weekend and close up on Monday or Tuesday. It was disappointing to have to drive into town some 3 miles plus to find something to eat. The front desk staff never gave any ideas for food, etc.
There was once a bar, but it was chained locked and who knows why it closed. There was a lonely cat outside at the back entrance door that was continuously begging for food, but was not human friendly. We did try to get it adopted to no available.
Basically this was an older, years gone by successful hotel/motel striving to continue in business and improve. I think we would stay here again because I didn't see anything that appeared to be pet friendly for our 15 yr. old Goldie Girl that has stayed in 250 hotels plus. However we are from the Western side of Michigan on Lake Michigan and this visit to Oscoda was a one time visit. Also, for what this was, $140 on Saturday nite and $120 on Sunday night with no restaurant was too expensive.

Room Tip: Discuss an inventory of rooms in advance at reservation.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Constance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Room was as pictured. Quiet and clean. However our room was not made up 2 out of 4 days. It was made up when we arrived. Next day not. Third day we went by the room to pick up something and it was still not made up at 3 pm. We complained and it was made up that day. Next day was not made up again. No hair dryer or conditioner. Breakfast was mediocre. 2 out of 4 days eggs and sausage were cold. I would choose someplace else.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lovetotravel7559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Inn Lodge O, Manager at Camp Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Im so very sorry you had a bad experience, we are trying to hire more employees to cover these types of housekeeping issues and we hope to provide a better experience and an updated hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Older building, but well-maintained and clean. Our room was large, with actual queen-size beds, a fridge/freezer and microwave. Beds were rock hard. Tiny shower/toilet, sink was in the main room but minimal counter space. No sheers on the windows, just blinds and room-darkening curtains. Not enough outlets for all our gadgets, and my wife had to get a hair dryer from the desk. Walls are thin - we heard every yell from the toddler next door.

There is a large pool area with giant tube slides, like a McDonald's play area but with water.. We didn't use it but it looked good for younger kids.

On-site restaurant had a very good dinner - the giant pretzel was crazy big, made fresh and crispy/gooey/yum! Soup and sandwiches were fresh and made from scratch - no cans here. Restaurant prices were in line with the area, which is generally a little expensive. The included breakfast was decent - eggs, sausage, bagels, cereal. No sweet pastries, which seemed odd.

The staff was great! Everyone asked if we needed anything, housekeeper gave us an extra bag for laundry, the girl at the desk was informative and cheerful, the restaurant staff was friendly and proud of the food they served. I got the impression much of the staff has been working there for years, which means management is doing something right.

We definitely would eat dinner at the restaurant again. We might stay again if we were in the area - there aren't any major chains nearby. But we would ask to be moved away from the loud toddlers!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The staff is what makes this place a wonderful place to stay, especially Rick who was very helpful in making sure our stay was complete. We looked forward to coming back in the evenings for the great food and dining experience. These people are in the right business as the food and service were top notch and noticeably given high priority. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I will be coming back to the Camp Inn Lodge in the future. Priced right. Lake Huron access. Great location between Oscoda and Tawas.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crozmanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews