We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice Staff, Clean Rooms, Great Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

In my course of business travel, I generally float back and forth between two other hotel brands. I happened to stay at this property because my daughter had a softball tournament in Novi recently. We had a great experience between the hotel staff, the nice room, and the great breakfast (much better than other hotel brand continental breakfasts). We also thought the value was great. The location is very conveniently located near, but not too close to, the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank svenska572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Mixed opinions about this hotel. When you first walk in you notice a stuffy dank odor filling the lobby and hall way that of a damp basement. The decor is dated and not modernized. The elevator is similar to what you would find in an old apartment building and feels like the cables are going to snap once you press the button. They have a pool we chose not to swim because indoor pools in a hotel lime this we have has two seperate occasions where our children have contracted pink eye from using the facilities. They always seem to be under maintained. Heres the kicker..."cockroaches" yes our room. Had 2 I killed not a big deal for me i used to live in Australia i am used to them but be warned. If i had a choice i would choose a hotel without roaches though...your call. The bed linen looked like it was already slept in i am assuming was because the linen is so old. A nice bed and crisp sheets is mandatory for me when travelli g. Its what sets the hotels apart IMO. The breakfast is great probably the best feature. Self serve pancake machine. Sausage patties biscuits yougurt cinn buns milk and coffee a bit of an upgrade from other continental breakfast out there i give the breakfast a 5/5.
It seems as tough Holiday Inn in Novi could use a few touch ups and would have gotten a higher s ore from me.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank WorldsGreatestDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi WorldsGreatestDaddy,

Thanks for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express And Suites Detroit-Novi, we're glad to have hosted your family. It's disconcerting to learn that we missed to provide you with a more pleasant stay as you were let down by our overall upkeep. On behalf of the team, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the situations you described particularly in terms of cleanliness and bedding condition. Be assured your feedback will be shared with the management to help pinpoint areas that need immediate attention. On the plus side, I am pleased to know that our breakfast menu has positively affected your overall stay experience.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review and despite what has transpired, I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon so we may provide you with a more stellar experience on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jillian I
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We are a travel softball team. We stay in many hotels a year. The staff here was very nice and helpful. The hotel itself was clean and spacious. But, Donald set this place apart. He drove some parents and the team to the Tigers game and stayed to pick them up. On Sunday we had an early start and breakfast was not going to be ready. Donald went to McDonalds and bought breakfast for our girls out of his own pocket. That is way above and beyond expectations. Thank you Donald from the Schockwaves.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmjames40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

I'm from Europe and I've stayed here for a week.
Compared to where I come from, coffee is crap anywhere in the US. Here is no exception.
Breakfast could be more varied, because they had the same thing each day. Pancake machine makes up for everything, though.
Building seems old and you get lots of smells, not sure if towel conditioner or something else.
You cannot open the windows to get fresh air inside.
Overall cleanliness is good, you have a fridge in the room and vending machine on the corridor.
AC makes a lot of noise, fridge a little bit less.
Foreigners, come prepared with wall plug adapters!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sorin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank You for recently visiting us, We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have ran into! We offer a hot breakfast buffet filled with man options from scrambled eggs, omelets and our exclusive Holiday Inn Cinnamon rolls. We hope to have another opportunity to make things right the next time your in the Detroit-Novi area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

The room is clean and spacious with 2 huge beds. It's got iron, fridge, coffee maker. It was nice and quite and I quite liked the room. The breakfast is poor. It looks and tastes cheap. I am not particularly worried about it, as I am not a hearty eater, but those who like fancy hotel breakfasts will be disappointed. This is the reason the hotel did not score very high is I am not sure it's adequately priced. I think the price could have been a little lower.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Irina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank You for recently staying with us, We are located by many restaurants, malls and major highways all within a 5 mile radius of our hotel. We do also offer a shuttle service Monday - Friday to accommodate you on your travels. We hope to see you the next time your in the Detroit-Novi area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novi hotels
4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
2.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
5.1 km away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
4 km away
Residence Inn Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi

Address: 39675 W 12 Mile Rd, Novi, MI 48377-3605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range: ₹ 5,935 - ₹ 11,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our brand new hotel in Novi, Michigan is located a half-hour outside Detroit, at M-5 & 12 Mile Rd., the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Detroit Novi provides comfortable accommodations near many of suburban Detroit s best businesses & leisure attractions. Business travelers lodging in Novi, Michigan can enjoy our Novi, MI hotel convenient access to several convention & sports arenas including the Rock Financial Showplace, CompuWare Arena & Novi Ice Arena. Nearby businesses include; Nissan, Ryder, ITC, Bosch, Hewlett Packard & MI CAT. Additionally, this Novi hotel has a 24-hour business center & two meeting rooms. Avid shoppers will find several shopping centers within one mile of our Novi hotel near Detroit. The Twelve Oaks Mall & Novi Towne Center are all just a short drive away. Other Detroit - Novi attractions include the Detroit Casinos, Ford Field, Comerica Park, the Holocaust Memorial Center & Second City Comedy Nightclub. While lodging in Novi, Michigan, you can stay connected with the free HSIA & you can enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar. Keep up your workout routines with the indoor pool & a well-equipped fitness center. On your next trip to the Detroit area, come Stay Smart at our new Novi, MI hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing