We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
159
29
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
29
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange roomsaffron roomback porchralph laurenprivate porchaqua roomfour seasonsyogurtplace to staycontinental breakfastmain downtown streetquick blockswithin easy walking distanceplay gamestrain stationother guestsspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

My boyfriend and I wanted to explore a new town and chose new buffalo. We had never stayed at an inn before and we really thought it was exceptional. Overall it was quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the aqua room and it had a comfortable bed, was clean, large and had a large bathroom. We also were able to enjoy the outdoor community deck and game room both nights we stayed. Walking distance from everything, including the beach, made it super convenient. The only thing I would do different is to get a room with a private balcony for next time because it was so peaceful to sit outside.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kbhittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

So happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your review.
The four rooms at the front of the building all have private porches or balconies. The Saffron room and the Tower suite are on the second floor with great balconies. The Orange and Yellow rooms are on the first floor with great porches. The rest of the rooms share a large porch at the rear of the building that has ceiling fans and comfortable chairs. There is also a patio area at the back corner of the rear courtyard area.
We do have a great place to experience summertime peace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I Absolutely loved staying at the Lake Country Inn! Our room was the purple room upstairs and it was incredibly clean and had the softest most comfortable mattress!!
The inn is within a few quick blocks to many awesome restaurants, bars and the beach! We especially loved it too because it was an easy walk from the train station which we used to take Amtrak to and from Chicago.
We had a late Amtrak train and they allowed us to leave our bags in the lobby area and change in the bathroom which was very appreciated.
Breakfast was included and had a wonderful array of items - yogurt, bagels, juices, cereal and coffee.
We loved the town of new buffalo and had an amazing stay! Would definitely stay at the Lake Country Inn again!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us.
I am really glad you mentioned the train. Many people don't realize that there is an Amtrak platform about two blocks from our property. Travel time from Union Station in downtown Chicago is about one hour. You don't need a car when you stay with us a you can walk to pretty much every thing you need. Uber is now also in the area and there are multiple tour services for the vineyards. Four Winds Casino has a frequent shuttle from New Buffalo also.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed in the blue room which had an extra room with a couch with a twin sleeper. It was very clean and the staff is very friendly. We could walk to restaurants and the beach easily. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was nice. They had English mufffins, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, cereal, hot chocolate, juice, and coffee. The place looks very new and well kept. The whole place was extremely clean. This was our second visit, and we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Another angle on our breakfast is that you have several places to sit and enjoy it. The shared porch on the back of the property has some great ceiling fans and chairs. Then we have the community room with tables and air conditioning. Behind the community room is a patio area with shade and a large table. Finally, the rooms at the front of the property have private porches or balconies.

Thank you so very much for your review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

My husband and I joined a group of classmates (class of '68) for a mini reunion. Lake County Inn was a perfect place for the 15 or so of us to stay. The staff was amazing; the rooms were nicely decorated and super clean. The location was right in the center of town and in close vicinity to restaurants and Lake Michigan. Best of all, the Inn had a large separate room with a fireplace that was perfect for gathering for games and catching up with old friends,

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Candy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks so much for your review Candy. It was our pleasure to host your group and we all really enjoyed your visit. The Community Room works out really well when we have groups as there is a great space for guests to visit while the main building stays quite for people who want to relax and chill.

We would love to have your group back. Your lucky to have such a great community of long time friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Booked one evening at Lake Country Inn for a get-away birthday weekend. Have never stayed at this boutique hotel and will definitely stay again. We booked the red room. Excellent appointments, quite surroundings, excellent light continental breakfast. We took our morning coffee to the building behind the hotel only to find a wonderful large room with couches, fireplace, tables to eat breakfast. Just a wonderful overnight stay. One block walk to main street of New Buffalo.

Room Tip: Red room has separate entrance. All other rooms are within hotel entrance.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ksls2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your review. One great advantage that comes with staying with us is that you really don't need your car after you arrive. There are multiple great places to eat within a short walk. World class sunsets are also only a 10 minute walk from your room. There is also a shuttle to the nearby Four Winds Casino complex. You can even get picked up at the door for a tour of the local wineries.

Really happy you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews