We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
161
29
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
29
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange room saffron room back porch ralph lauren private porch aqua room four seasons yogurt place to stay continental breakfast main downtown street quick blocks within easy walking distance play games train station other guests spent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

My BF and I had time to sneak away over the weekend, so we decided to come back to New Buffalo after having such a nice time in the area last spring. We didn't necessarily want to stay at the same place we stayed last time, so searched on TrIpAdvisor and found Lake Country Inn. We booked the Saffron Room and had a lovely stay. The inn is immaculate, quiet and well-appointed. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed reading and sipping wine out on the balcony after a day of winery and distillery visits. On Sunday morning we took out breakfast out to the four seasons room, which is very nice. Albeit a quick trip, we really enjoyed the inn and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AEM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed our property, and that we were able to help you getaway and relax. The "season" has not yet started in New Buffalo, so this is a very peaceful time to visit the area.
The local vineyards are a very popular destination for many of our guests, and we have lots of information about the local wineries for guests to review. Also, several companies offer tours if you don't want to drive.
Thanks again! Hope you can make it back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Planned a last minute trip and couldn't have been happier with the hotel. The location was ideal, right in the center of things. The Inn was very quiet, in fact we might have been the only guests. That was understandable, given the Easter holiday and that all the businesses in town were shut down on Sunday. We were made to feel very welcome, with all the food, snacks, barware, etc. that we needed. We stayed in the Orange room, but had the chance to look in several others. All were spotless, impeccably decorated, and charming in their own unique way. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thanks so much for finding us and for our first review of 2017! Early spring is typically a pretty quiet time in this area. Some seasonal businesses have not yet opened and the lake tends to keep temps on the cool side. The peace and tranquility throughout the area during this period make for a great time to enjoy the striking natural beauty of our shoreline and nature parks.
Plus, all of our rooms get lots of springtime morning sunshine, so they are great spots to wake up after a good night's hibernation.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you back soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The location of the inn is ideal for walking to shops and restaurants. The room was immaculate and well-appointed. The bed is memory foam and comfortable. The common kitchenette had an ice maker, mini-fridge, and tea kettle. Cookies and fruit were always available. On the negative side, the window coverings in the rooms are wood blinds that do not block the light. This is troublesome for light sleepers, so a sleep mask would help. We stayed in the blue room on the first floor, right next to the common kitchenette. If we stay there again, it would be in an upstairs room with a balcony. The outdoor area was really nice as well with comfortable furniture. The "Gathering Room" is a separate building with comfy furniture and game table. We did not eat breakfast there as it was not served until 8:30 and we are early risers. We tried two local diners and it was not good, so I would head to Sawyer for Infusco coffee and pastries next time. The parking lot was full while we were there, but we only ran into other guests a few times in two days. Improving breakfast offerings and time, and adding room darkening drapes would take this property to a five rating.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Monet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. Our breakfast was a
topic on several reviews this season and we are considering possible changes for next year. However, we are not a B&B and we have no kitchen. Correspondingly, our room rates are typically 10-15% lower than local B&B's that offer a more elaborate breakfast. Also, there is a fantastic spot for breakfast just down the street called Jackie's Cafe. Chef Jackie is a very well know restauranteur from Lincoln Park who now calls New Buffalo home and her cooking is just wonderful. Rosie's restaurant is a classic local breakfast spot just around the corner from us.
Thanks again, hope you make it back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Just back from a mid week stay at Lake Country Inn…this was our third time visiting the inn and were just as impressed as the first time we stayed there. Spotless, well kept, comfortable no matter which suite you are in and the morning breakfast is just enough to get you going. Great location for all the winery visits and some terrific restaurants.
Always appreciate having the off street parking as well. You will not be disappointed if you visit.

Room Tip: each suite a bit different but you cannot lose no matter the choice. First floor or second floor with no elevator a matter of taste.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjrcreekside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We are very happy that you enjoy staying with us. Thanks so very much for the review. Our slogan is " your place at the lake ". Prior to moving to the New Buffalo, it was always an area that I could not wait to visit for some fun and relaxation. Again, we are very pleased we are able to facilitate the same experience for you.
Great talking with you and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Spent a couple of days in New Buffalo, Michigan and stayed at the Lake Country Inn. Great place to stay. We stayed in the Blue Room and it was a very nice room facing the back of the Inn. There is no private porch with this room but you can walk out your room door and around the corner and be outside on a lovely covered porch with fans above. You can't go wrong in any room in the Inn. Every room is tastefully decorated and the Inn is super clean!!
There is a really nice enclosed space in the back yard with sitting areas and tables to play games. Large sliding glass doors open on 3 sides to let nice breezes come through. Breakfast was a traditional continental style with bagels, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, and cereal. Juices, water and coffee are ready when wakening. Owners and employees are super friendly and hospitable. Great location just steps away from restaurants and shopping and just a short walk to the beach. We would surely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We really appreciate you staying with us and thank you so much for the review. Each of our nine rooms are unique in terms of colors, furnishings, and exposure. Every room however is brightly colored with lots of large pella windows and designer furnishings. Also, since the building was designed and built specifically to be an inn 2005, the rooms are quite with noise reducing insulation, windows, and doors.
Thank you so much again. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews