We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !”
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visit Michigan often and this was our second stay to the Harbor Grand with two teenagers. You seriously couldn’t ask for anything more. The vicinity of the hotel is perfect. You’re within walking distance to the beach, the downtown, restaurants, etc.

The inn has plenty for kids/teens - a great pool and hottub, free bicycle rentals, free DVD’s and free smores in the evening. Breakfast delivered to your room is also included, as well as free coffee and/or tea 24/7 in the lobby.

If you’re traveling with kids, be sure to reserve a village view suite, as it has a separate bedroom and TV along with closet. The other room has a pullout bed and enough room for an inflatable bed and a second TV. The room does not overlook the harbor, but both the deck of the restaurant and pool has balconies which you can utilize anytime.

We ordered wine at their restaurant, but visited their sister hotel, Brenwood Tavern at the Marine Harbor, for dinner which was excellent. Brentwood Tavern has great outdoor seating, weather permitting.

Other area restaurants not to be missed include Brewster’s (great Italian food), Stray Dog (bar food and local hangout) and Redamak’s (famous burgers).

Wine tours and the Michigan City casino and outlet mall are all in close proximity.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for The Harbor Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our second stay at Harbor Grand and it just keeps getting better. The service, amenities and staff are great. Complimentary ammenities include bicycles, breakfast delivered to your door, DVD's, pool/hot tub, internet, coffee/tea 24/7, smores on the patio and a staff that really wants you to enjoy yourself.

We use this facility as a base for exploring all the area has to offer, beaches, shopping, casinos, winerys and more. On one day we drove to nearby Michigan City and caught the commuter train to Chicago for the day. Less than $8 each way and it drops you right at Michigan and Randolph.

On checkout, their final question to us was "What can we do to make this better for you?" With that kind of service attitude, we will be back.

Room Tip: The harbor view lower level rooms have private patios.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpartyHolt_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We are a family of four with limited time to travel; however, we wanted to go somewhere for spring break. We picked The Harbor Grand since it is only about 100 miles away from our home in the suburbs of Chicago. Pros of staying here: wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, indoor pool and hot tub, walking distance from several New Buffalo restaurants and shops, close to major area attractions, free s'more kits by the fire pit, free bike and DVD rentals, 24-hour Ben and Jerry's for $5 a pint, and being a vehemently NON-morning person, I cannot stress enough my appreciation for the FREE continental breakfast in a picnic basket that was punctually delivered to our door every morning. I truly appreciated the unique touches of this hotel. The cons: I felt the room we stayed in was small (it was a harbor view room with two double beds and a private patio); beds felt stiff (althought it didn't bother me and no one else complained); the walls are thin (although it didn't really bother me after the first night); there isn't a real closet (it's an alcove with detachable hangers which I usually associate with cheap motels); the bathroom was large and spacious; however, it seemed unfinished to me because there were no towel bars by the sink to hang towels, no ledges by the bathtub to put soap and shampoo on, no towel/robe hook on the back of the door (there is one by the tub), and no clothesline on which to dry swim suits. However, these were minor (some even might even say quite petty) inconveniences; in truth, we were rarely in our rooms and only to sleep. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay at The Harbor Grand, would recommend it, and have made reservations for a summer weekend. Our kids (ages 12 and 8) really liked the hotel and spent a lot of time in the pool. One caveat is that we stayed at the hotel off-season: rates are considerably lower ($109-$199+/night compared to $300-$370+/night in season) and we have been told that the population soars from 3,000 residents to 5 to 10 times that number during the season. Not sure how pleasant it would be during a hot crowded summer. I guess we'll find out!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorylou5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our first time staying at Harbor Grand after staying several times at MarinaGrand witch is just down the street. Both hotels are terrific! The room at Harbor Grand was larger than Marina Grand with a living room and separate bedroom.I would suggest asking for a harbor view room because the others face the parking lot. This would be especially nice in the summer. There are restaurants in both hotels that have excellent food. However, the Harbor Grand restaurant doesn't open tll 5:00.We arrived early and walked over to Marina Grand to eat. As I said both restaurants are excellent. With lots of amenities and a short walk to the beach, it's great place for couples and families. We'll return again.

Room Tip: Great for a weekend
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was my 4th time at the Harbor Grand - it is a great jumping off place on my trips to Michigan. As always the room was terrific, the view is great, the pool is one of the best at a hotel and the breakfast is yummy. I actually visited the bar downstairs for the first time this visit and that was equally nice. Glanced at the menu and they have some nice items.

This place is one of my favorites. Highly recommended - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor above the pool for the best view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
131 reviews
14.7 km away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
632 reviews
37.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: ₹ 8,435 - ₹ 29,554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing