We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
102
89
57
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
89
57
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds carry your own two nights no elevator spa facilities battlefield tour spoke english enjoyable stay yogurt large bathroom visiting normandy one star michelin restaurant omaha beach chateau annex bayeux beaches
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We found the Chateau de Sully a disappointment, given its many 5 star reviews. Our first impressions were very favourable because it is a magnificent looking building with a lovely setting as you drive in from the road. Unfortunately, the room we had did not match the view. We were on the highest floor in what was obviously the old servants’ quarters. The bed was fairly comfortable, but a little small, and the bathroom adequate but the shower was very small. As several reviews have mentioned, it was quite a walk up narrow stairs to get to our room, luckily we had light baggage. The pool was good. We did not eat in the restaurant, being deterred by the high prices and the fact that we already knew of a good restaurant in Bayeux. It is an easy drive into town which is another advantage, which is good as there is no bus service, and I should imagine taxis would be hard to get.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Le Chateau de Sully is a perfect setting if you are planning a complete rest from the hustle and bustle of daily life. The Chateau is set in beautiful manicured gardens with a long tree lined drive down towards the chateau itself. You can take a relaxing swim and make use of the spa facilities at the hotel. There are two jacuzzis, a sauna and a shower with body jets. There are bathrobes and slippers in each room. The food is truly amazing and stunningly presented. Every dish we had was delicious and very well presented and served by very polite, friendly and knowledgeable waiting staff. They also have over 320 different wines in their cellar ! The Maitre d’Hotel and Sommelier, Gregory Colleville will introduce you to the different wines on offer. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with daily housekeeping service. Although we didn’t use it the hotel can arrange D-Day tours during your stay, book a table in town etc for you. We would definitely recommend Le Chateau de Sully and we are looking forward to staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We were a group of 20+ people for a wedding on the cliffs near the chateau and Omaha beach. Everyone was very pleased with their rooms. Obviously some rooms were nicer than others, but all were quite nice. The dinner in a private dining room was perfect. And the service was impeccable. I would definitely go back again if I’m in need of a hotel in the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank danielatlparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Really decadent place!
The food is just ok, the service is horrible (we stayed 4 hours to complete the meal, 25 minutes to receive the cheese plante and the wine didn’t arrive), the personal is not sympatic at all... honestly, a place to be avoided.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Monize N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice to stay in the fields.

The hotel doesn’t really need AC, it was very cool in evening.

The WiFi was spotty but the overall ambiance was superb.

The pool was enjoyable, hot tub and sauna were much needed after a long day touring Normandy.

The restaurant is actually wonderful. We did the tasting menu and it was superb, better than the two other Michelin star restaurants we ate at.

Perfect spot to hop into any of the surrounding towns or to the supermarket to stock up on stuff.

More of a no frills stay but was exactly what we needed.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jondnunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews