We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau La Cour
Nearby Hotels
US$ 142
US$ 135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
US$ 106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De La Place(Aunay-sur-Odon)
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais du Commerce(Pont-d'Ouilly)
US$ 96
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Manoir de la Riviere(Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles)
US$ 212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 82
US$ 76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
39
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

At Chateau La Cour you are welcomed like old friends and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts, David and Lesley. They are both charming and Lesley is a superbly accomplished cook, the flavour and presentation were as good as any restaurant. Most of the vegetables and fruit were from the garden and the eggs were from their own hens. I have dietary problems and Lesley went out of her way to prepare foods that I could eat, all of them delicious. The Chateau was renovated by David and Lesley and they have captured the elegant feel of the building. Everything has been done to a very high standard and is therefore extremely comfortable and attractive. I left feeling as though I had been visiting friends and wanting to return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMSHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed in the apartment of Chateau La Cour - lovely quality from the rooms and the views to the excellence of the furnishings and equipment ( not forgetting the welcome pack of food partly sourced from the pottager).
Lesley and David are super hosts; we joined them for dinner on one evening and the meal and company (our hosts and another couple) went together wonderfully well.
Altogether a relaxing and lovely week.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Chateau la Cour in Suisse Normandy in June,2010. Lesley and David Craven were amazing hosts and their B and B is first class all the way!

The Chateau is the largest and oldest house in Culey le Patry. There are Roman remains beneath the ground and a vestige of the original Roman arch over the front door. The Cravens bought the Chateau in 1997 and painstakingly restored it over a period of three years.

Starting with the meals - Breakfast was served on lovely china and beautifully presented. Cereals, yogurt, fruit, fresh croissants/french bread, and buns, with jam (made the day before by David with raspberries from the garden) and eggs prepared however you like them (produced by one of their "happy hens") Delicious!!!!

Three or four times a week guests have the option of enjoying dinner/supper prepared by Lesley. Drinks are served prior to dinner in the lovely sitting room. The very elegant table linens and china that are used for the evening meal make the whole dining experience very special. Three or four course dinners (your choice), made with produce from the garden and the very best of meat, fish, and poultry are outstanding! Lesley and David join their guests for dinner, encouraging conversation around recipes, historical facts about Chateau la Cour (the stone building with built-in- oven at the end of the driveway was at one time the village bakery), and the many sites to visit in the Suisse Normandy area.

We try to stay out of the large cities when we travel in Europe, preferring to have a quiet, relaxing base from which to explore. Chateau la Cour was ideal for our purposes. Mont St. Michel and Dinan in Brittany, Caen, Bayeaux, Honfleur, the D-Day landing beaches and museums in Normandy were all reasonable distances and easy to visit from the Chateau. Upon awakening each morning the only sounds were birds, church bells and a few roosters!!

The website very accurately depicts this B and B and we would highly recommend it!
Chateau la Cour and Lesley and David are simply the best!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My Wife and I stayed at Chateau La Cour for a long weekend recently and enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing time staying in the 'Papillon' room. The Chateau is in a fantastic location surrounded by acres of wonderful Normandy countryside and has been lovingly restored to its former glory. From the moment you pass through the impressive gates into the immaculate grounds and view the lovely Chateau you know you've arrived somewhere special!
David and Lesley are the consumate hosts -very informative and helpful when planning any trips or restaurant visits etc, aswell as catering for your every need at the Chateau, but without being overbearing in any way.
Breakfast is a fantastic affair, with lovely high quality homemade and local produce, more than satisfying the healthiest of appetites! We took the option of booking 4 course dinners twice during our stay, which we thoroughly recommend -Lesley is an excellent a cook, whilst David is a great and entertaining 'front of house' host. The dinners are again of the highest quality, accompanied with generous amounts of lovely French wine and are served in the impressive dining room.
The 'Papillon' room is very spacious and comfortable and has everything you could wish for including no television -the wonderful views are all the viewing you need! The upstairs bathroom is very lavish, with lovely toiletries, fluffy white towels and again enjoys the most fantastic views -just a shame the bath is not front of the window!
The Chateau grounds are equally impressive, with a grand walled vegatable garden, orchard, hens (ensuring your breakfast eggs are the freshest possible), barns and a recently restored outside stone oven. The local Normandy countryside offers wonderful walks, views and the freshest air, which we enjoyed on several ocasions during our stay.
Chateau La Cour is the perfect sanctury from the hustle and bustle of normal life -we loved it and are already planning our return! If you require the highest quality rest, relaxation and sustinance -this is the place to come!
Michael and Sally.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelWickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in the self contained flat for a week. Lesley and david were friendly and welcoming hosts. They were happy to answer our questions about the region but didn't go over the top with loads of options which we appreciated. The flat was luxurious with every thing catered for down to the last detail. Our hamper was most welcome of home grown salad, local cheese, ham and eggs from their happy hens, plus a loaf of bread , milk and bottle of wine. Everything was spotless, crisp white bed linen, generous fluffy towels and beautiful soft furnishings that you might find in a five star hotel at least!

The area is peaceful with plently of walking opportunities, good restaurants, and places of interest within easy driving distance.

We put the car on the train to Calais and got caught up in the traffic near Le Havre, another time (and we will be returning) we would go on the ferry to Cain.

We would thoroughly recommend Chateau La Cour, and are considering one of their gourmet breaks, after a spot of dieting that is!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews