We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostellerie de Saint-Alban
Nearby Hotels
US$ 75
US$ 71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 135
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Lignan(Lignan-sur-Orb)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
34
26
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
26
6
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

My wife, my parents and I went for dinner at Saint Alban. It was a warm evening and all guests were eating in the garden space out front of the restaurant as the interior did not appear to be air conditioned. We sat down to dinner at 8.15pm but there was inadequate lighting in the garden which is also surrounded by hedges. Whilst there was a single candle on the table, we resorted to eating with phone torches balanced on our glasses, yet this did not prompt the waiting staff to bring any more candles.

The starters tasted good (although it was too dark to see them). Most disappointing was my main course. I originally ordered beef brochettes, but they had run out. Instead i ordered the Cote de boeuf. When this arrived it was ridiculously enormous and the qualify of meet poor. No warning was given as to the size of the cut which must have been at least a kilo of meet. Whilst charred black on the outside it was still mostly blue in the middle.

We complained to the waitress but no adjustment was made to our bill, which was simply left without a word.

If you decide to eat at this restaurant I recommend you request a seat next to one of the few garden lights and avoid the Côte de boeuf.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hostln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Our documentation said checkin at 4 and checkout at 11.30. What actually happened was that we arrived after 4 and were locked out until luckily a chef arrived for his shift. Eventually the owner turned up clad only in a towel. We had dinner which was far too overblown. It was a good thing we were early for breakfast as everything ran out very soon. Then we were unceremoniously chucked out early because they had booked in some other people whom they considered more important than us.
The wifi did not work.
The one saving grace of this hotel was the swimming pool.

Room Tip: go somewhere else where they actually welcome you
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcwDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel was a little tired but I feel this added to the charm of the place , it felt that the owners rented the hotel rather than actually owned it themselves otherwise they would have made a bit more of an effort with the place. The man was very pleasant and helpful his wife / partner was the absolute opposite and downright rude and didn't hide it , overall it was a good break but a bit of money spent on the hotel and grounds would improve the overall feel

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tieweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This place was hugely disappointing. There was no body there to meet us and had to wait over an hour for someone to turn up. the room was shabby and obviously cheaply furnished. the restaurant was closed and the man on reception knew zero about the area or alternative for dinner. The swimming pool are was mucky, unkempt and wholly uninviting. Great shame since with some effort and a little money this attractive old property could be a super boutique hotel--but now has been badly let go. This place does not deserve its 3 stars or inclusion in the Michelin Guide.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank arnold08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I travel from the US every year to tour Europe for 5 months. Our base of operations is a refurbished 600 year old house here in the village. From here we have taken road trips to Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Bavaria, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, and countless locations all over France. When we first arrived in town 6 years ago the hotel and restaurant were a thriving little business. They had an ownership change 30 months ago and the cuisine and lodging became a disaster. Luckily the inn was rescued by a gentlemen from North Central France and his companion. Last night we ventured out with local friends of ours to give this restaurant another try. Wonder of wonders!! The meal and service were suburb. From the chèvre in puff pastry to the lamb chops to the upside down apple pie a la mode every thing was delicious. My wife had a tomato tarte as an appetizer and declared that a winner as well. Her cabiloud was flaky, moist and outstanding. The bread was baked on premise and had hard outer crust and doughy interior - just a sit should be. We were offered an amuse bouche which consisted of seasoned diced tomatoes served with homemade quacamole - interesting pairing. This was accompanied by tampanade on toast point with an anchovy. Wonderful presentation on all the dishes. Dinner for four - with appetizers, main course, dessert, a bottle of regional wine, Perrier, and after dinner drinks was 147€. A bargain no matter where you go. This was easily one of the top 25 meals we have had while touring Europe, and we have eaten hundreds. I am looking forward to returning with US friends when they come to visit in a month. We might even return next week...........

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews