We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Chateau experience in picturesque Burgundy countryside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Villette
Ranked #3 of 3 Poil B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Chateau experience in picturesque Burgundy countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family of 5 (3 children) wanted the experience of staying in a Chateau while touring France. After a long Internet search we finally found Chateau de Villette. From the moment we arrived we loved the the property. We were warmly welcomed by Catherine and Coen and their children and made to feel part of the family. The house and bedrooms are tastefully decorated, immaculately presented and relaxing. The Chateau is set in beautiful large landscaped gardens which offer idyllic views across the Burgundy countryside. My children spent a lot of their time exploring the grounds, particularly in the treehouse, they loved it so much they would not come inside even when it rained.

The breakfast is delicious with eggs and bacon for those who want it. We appreciated Catherine and Coen's help and tips with activities in the area, directions and restaurant recommendations. Catherine booked us a table at a lovely and cosy French restaurant in a village close by which we loved and highly recommend if staying in the area.

We have absolutely no hesitation recommending Chateau de Villette if you are staying in the Burgundy region and would love come back someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and spent 8 days at Chateau de Villette a lovely experience to be share the family life in a private home.The evening meals were wonderful and shared with people from all parts of the world,but the outstanding part of the visit was the welcome from Catherine and Coen and their family.The accomodation,meals and atmosphere was of the highest level.

John and Mary Curtin Melbourne Australia.

Room Tip: Hire a car and deal direct with Catherine and Coen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This chateau located in the countryside of Burgundy is the home of Catherine and Coen Stork, who live in a private wing. It is a magnificent property located on 500 acres of surrounding land near the small village of Poil (about 25 min south of Autun and 1 hr southwest of Beaune). The chateau has been beautifully restored and maintained and the Stork's welcome you as if you were their personal house guests. They are most helpful with the sites and activities of the area, restaurant recommendations, and directions (they speak French , English, and Flemish). Catherine prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning. We had the largest room/suite which was huge and overlooked the front entrance. It was very well appointed with a 4 poster bed, a sitting area, desk, day bed and a large adjacent bath---all very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with large quail and partidges about and a duck pond nearby. You will not be disappointed here and you will truly be able to feel like a Fench count and countess must have felt.
A word about dining--if there is a large enough group staying at the chateau they have a cook come in and prepare dinner. Otherwise there are a number of good local restaurants in the surronding villages.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have the most wonderful experience at Chateau de Villette. We have a very stressful life in Holland and have unwound completely here. The atmosphere surrounding the ground was fantastic. The rooms were gorgeous, tastefully decorated, and spacious and the bed was super comfy. They serve a delightful breakfast with home-made jams, fruit juices, the best croissants, very good coffee….truly amazing. The owners will make sure your stay in memorable. We look forward to come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Chateau was nice, and breakfast was excellent. Surroundings, was lovely nature! But not much to do at the Chateau and the swimming pool was far from well maintained. Rooms were clean but without any doubt, the worst bed we ever have slept in! Not a very child friendly Chateau and if you get them to make a children plate, you will be overcharged by big surprised!!

Room Tip: Chassagne Montrachet romm have the worst bed ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocastork, Propriétaire at Chateau de Villette, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Thank you for the feedback.

We are not ideally suitable for small children as it mentioned on our website.

There are plenty activities in and around the chateau if you are interested in gastronomy, wine, shopping, nature, food markets, history and other outdoor activities such as golf, hiking, bicycling, chateaux visiting and horseriding. We don't have any "Disneyland" type theme parks or discotheques near us and that is why people love it at Chateau de Villette.

We charged €18 for a complete children's menu; starter, main course and desert. The menu was specifically requested and cooked for the guests and was all finished. The children's meal was done as a special favor as there were normally no "table d'hotes" planned.

After a thunderstorm the chlorine system broke down during several days causing the water to look slightly unclear. The pool has been fully functioning since. Heavy thunderstorms are a regular, spectacular and impressive occurrence during the summer months in the "Parc du Morvan" but sometimes causing some discomfort as a side effect!

These guests slept with four people in a double (two person) bed probably causing discomfort.
We had offered another room with two additional single beds but this was turned down.

We are sorry to have got the feedback afterwards and were not in a position to do anything about it when the guests were there.

Catherine Stork
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poil
20.5 km away
Les Ursulines
Les Ursulines
#4 of 6 in Autun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 km away
La Petite Bourgogne
24.3 km away
Moulin Renaudiots
Moulin Renaudiots
#1 of 12 in Autun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
L'Ancien Presbytere
17.1 km away
Castel des Cedres
Castel des Cedres
#1 of 2 in Saint-Honore-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
21.3 km away
Chambres d'hotes Autun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Villette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Villette

Property: Chateau de Villette
Address: Villette | SARL Immobiliere de Villette, 58170 Poil, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Nievre > Poil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Poil
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,468 - ₹ 27,106
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Villette is a luxury Bed and Breakfast situated in the Regional Parc of the Morvan. It is surrounded by woodlands and open fiels with spectacular views. The park is about 200 Ha. The chateau has been completed renovated and offers very nice and comfortable rooms with ensuite bathrooms. There are beautiful gardens where you can sit outside or relax at the swimming pool. Dinner is possible on wednesday's and saturdays's; Other days on demand. On the estate there are also two renovated holiday cottages. Open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Villette Hotel Poil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing