We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning chateau and fabulous owners, we sincerely hope to return one day soon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Villette
Ranked #3 of 3 Poil B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning chateau and fabulous owners, we sincerely hope to return one day soon!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

A truly gorgeous experience in Burgundy, the chateau was stunning and our rooms were perfect for our young family of four with our bedroom adjoining our children's room and a lovely family bathroom. The chateau was beautifully decorated with its chic French interior, yet relaxed and informal way of life.

Even though we were in a stunning setting our two young children (4 and 2) did not feel out of place at all as they roamed the grounds freely, playing in the tree house with the owners young children.

We asked in advance for supper to be prepared for the children at 6pm and this was happily prepared at an extra cost. We also dined at the chateau and feasted on the most wonderful homemade dinner created using local seasonal ingredients accompanied by a selection of local wines. Sensational!! Breakfast was a feast for the eyes with fresh local bread, croissants, pain au chocolate, fresh cut fruit, granola, yoghurts, jams, fresh coffee and eggs and bacon for those who felt like it.

Our experience really was wonderful and made even more so by the fact that our children were happy. The owners made us feel comfortable and welcome that we almost felt like we were staying with friends for the night.

Whilst the pros far outweigh the cons the chateau did not have all of the mod cons you would expect of a business hotel but oozed the charm of an old French chateau in the countryside which is exactly what we as a family were looking for!

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katecawdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mortsel, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Beautifull château decorated with lots of good taste,with prfect feeling for detail , in stunning surroundings.
Cathérine and Coen are the perfect hosts to this wonderfull place. We felt very welcome amidst their lovely family every minute of our stay .On top of that Catherine is a wonderfull cook and Coen serves the best wines to go with it , so don't forget to book your seat at the table d'hôtes with your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doucdouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Chateau Villette is beautifully located, very scenic, with great views over Burgundy hills. Charming place, family feeling, stylish interiors and well furnished rooms, very comfortable (English) beds! Very nice hosts as well, speaking multiple languages and with extensive travel experience themselves

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddefret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed two nights and it was a delight in every way. They only serve breakfast but it is eaten in a beautiful dining room with lovely china and is of the highest quality, just like the bedrooms and bathrooms. An old chateau that has been beautifully and sensitively restored. there are two delightful children aged 6 and 3 who came in and introduced themselves and shook our hands. At no time were the children a problem, just a pleasure. The parents are very cultured and charming and the grounds were very extensive allowing for long walks in the woods without leaving the property.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Found through Wolsley Lodges but Chateau is listed in other publications.
We really enjoyed the wonderful "Family" feel of this home from home. The hosts have two small children 6 and 3 and all speak perfect english. The breakfasts were substantial and included home made jams etc. There is a super pool on property.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieboy7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poil
20.5 km away
Les Ursulines
Les Ursulines
#4 of 6 in Autun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.2 km away
La Petite Bourgogne
23.8 km away
Moulin Renaudiots
Moulin Renaudiots
#1 of 12 in Autun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
L'Ancien Presbytere
17.1 km away
Castel des Cedres
Castel des Cedres
#1 of 2 in Saint-Honore-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
21.3 km away
Chambres d'hotes Autun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Villette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Villette

Property: Chateau de Villette
Address: Villette | SARL Immobiliere de Villette, 58170 Poil, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Nievre > Poil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Poil
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,950 - ₹ 28,245
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Villette is a luxury Bed and Breakfast situated in the Regional Parc of the Morvan. It is surrounded by woodlands and open fiels with spectacular views. The park is about 200 Ha. The chateau has been completed renovated and offers very nice and comfortable rooms with ensuite bathrooms. There are beautiful gardens where you can sit outside or relax at the swimming pool. Dinner is possible on wednesday's and saturdays's; Other days on demand. On the estate there are also two renovated holiday cottages. Open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Villette Hotel Poil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing