We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleasant”
other travellers have booked this property
view of cottage and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of cottage and swimming pool
house as seen from pool courtyard terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
view of cottage and swimming pool
house as seen from pool
courtyard terrace
the pool
living/dining area
log fire, kitchen and dining area
main bedroom ground floor
bathroom
spiral staircase to first floor
bedroom 2 upstairs
single bed upstairs
terrace area
view from pool decking up towards main house
view from pool
looking up to the house from the pool
view towards pool
autumn time!
view from cottage towards pool in winter
Hautefort Château
hot air balloon flying over the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hautefort, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MyrtleMar...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The gite was very well equipped with all sorts of items for use in the kitchen, to entertain in the gite if the weather was inclement, and generally enjoy relaxing. We enjoyed the gite and just wish the weather had been warmer to make use of the pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara a...
1 review
“Great accommodation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Kate was a great owner,very helpful and responsive from the start with helpful instructions and directions. The house is in a lovely peaceful position,very well equipped and presented. Had the weather been a little better the pool would have been a significant bonus, we'll come again to enjoy that!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you Barbara - look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonVye
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“lovely, charming, comfortable, everything supplied for a family stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this exceptional gite. Our hosts supplied all the necessities for a comfortable stay, including games for the kids and a teapot for mom's afternoon tea! They kindly provided homemade jam, butter, bread, wine, milk and eggs to start off our stay. The grounds were lovely and well-kept; the rustic countryside was beautiful (including friendly sheep and cows belonging to the farmer next door); the farmhouse itself was charming and spacious. Our hosts were gracious and made themselves available, although we never needed anything. Excellent. Fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: countryside surroundings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katine67
2 reviews
“Great rental, highly recommend”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at Chez Baron July 11-23, 2015. The Gite is exactly as pictured and very comfortable to stay in, 3 bedrooms with 2 double beds and 2 twin beds. The pool is lovely to have if it gets hot, which it did during our stay. This was our first trip to the Dordogne region and found that Chez Baron is nicely located to visit all the sites - Rocomadour, Sarlat, Padirac Cave, Martel, Castelnaud, Lez Eyzies, etc. are all within 1 hour or less of a drive. the location is very private and quiet and well-stocked with all the utensils you might need if you plan to cook. There is a table outside to eat out on the patio, and a table inside as well. Our stay coincided with a bit of the "heat wave" with day time temperatures going up over 95 degrees several days, and if there is no breeze it was quite warm at night for sleeping. One thing I really loved was that the shower was an American-style stand up shower, and had GREAT water pressure, and the water was very hot, which is nice if you like a hot shower. I would highly recommend staying here and would stay again. So much better than staying in a hotel. We were able to do our laundry, relax outside and drink wine, eat cheese and enjoy it all. And it was nice to have Charlie the cat come for a visit now and again as our kids loved to pet him, he was super friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, great shower, nice pool, comfy beds, all kitchen stuff you'll need
Liked least: it was very hot some nights, a couple of fans would be a nice to have
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDMC74
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional home and can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had our first holiday in France at this exceptional property. The house caters for everything you could possibly need and is very comfortable and a joy to stay in. The owners really have thought of everything and are nearby if you need them for anything. The scenery all around is stunning and the grounds the house is in are beautiful. You are surrounded by nature and relaxing is the order of the day here. The pool is an added bonus and much needed on a hot day as the garden and the sun lounger area are in a sun trap for the majority of the day, although there is a cover to pull over if you want some shade. We cannot wait to go back and experience more of what Kate and Andre have to offer here, to spend time with the animals and just chill out again. Hopefully we can stay for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not staying long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing