We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very lovely, stately old hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Des Deux Clefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Des Deux Clefs
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turckheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very lovely, stately old hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I bicycled into Turkheim mid-week on our tour through the Route du Vin. We were fortunate to find a room at this hotel. We had a lovely, nicely appointed and decorated room and were very happy with it. It was clean, comfortable and everything in the room worked well. We appreciated the free WiFi service. There is a nice, extensive lobby area and the breakfast offered for an extra fee is one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever had. The location of the hotel is excellent, right at the heart of this quaint, beautiful old French town. The desk staff speaks English, and they are very helpful. if you go to Turkheim, do not miss the Colmar Pocket Museum. It is an excellent museum full of well designed and displayed information and artifacts about the Colmar Pocket battle of the winter of 1944-45. It is a world-class historical museum.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MainelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    135
    51
    20
    6
See reviews for
71
156
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We drove to Turkheim down the wine route from Kaiserburg on a Saturday afternoon for a 2 night stay in this wonderful hotel in this picturesque village. On Sunday, we drove into Colmar for the day.

I am adding this review to give others a couple of things to watch out for.

1. It was extremely easy to drive into Colmar -- takes no more than 15 minutes without traffic as Turkheim is essentially a suburb. HOWEVER, the drive back after dark took us 1 1/2 hours because we got so lost. In the end we drove almost back to Kaiserburg and re-found the hotel that way. There are no signs leaving Colmar that point to Turkheim, and even though you are only traveling 3 miles, there are so many traffic circles and forks in the road that it is easy to become confused. Take the precaution of asking the desk for directions, or be very sure to note the landmarks as you drive toward Colmar.

2. Our room was lovely, large, and well-decorated, but we had only a bath -- no shower. Other rooms have showers. I believe we got the last room when we reserved (so we had no choice whether we realized it or not), but if you want a shower you should read carefully what amenities go with your room.

The buffet breakfast with candlelight looks magnificent, but we opted for the salon de the around the corner for a fine croissant and coffee at a fraction of the cost.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewsterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

i stayed here with friends and it was my wedding anniversary, though my husband could not be with me, i celebrated in one of the cosy lounge areas and enjoyed the Alsace sparking wine. there was a bad storm outside which made the lounge areas even more cosy, there are plenty of board games to entertain the guests. the rooms were wonderful, and the ambience made me feel like i was in yesteryear. the bathroom was modern with a large bath. would stay here again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LindyLoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights over the Easter holiday weekend. The town of Turckheim itself is very old and quaint, and this hotel fits in perfectly. The hotel reminds me of a classic Bed & Breakfast because of the style, welcoming & friendly staff, limited amenities, and comfortable common areas with lots of sofas and board games.

The continental breakfast spread was very tasty, including hams, local cheeses, croissants, and a selection of home-made tarts. Though, for a cheaper alternative, there was also a small bakery almost right next door with fresh breads & pastries.

The room we stayed in was very small, but also very clean and comfortable. My only suggestion to improve the room would be to add a shower curtain to the bath so that you could shower standing up.

Parking did not seem to be a problem in Turckheim, but the hotel also offered private parking just around the corner, for a daily fee. Overall, a very pleasant stay which we would happily recommend.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neckargemund, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Nice old hotel located in the middle of Turckheim. Due to the age of the hotel the rooms and also the bath rooms are small and old fashioned. The breakfast is good and has local products (Elsass and France). Wireless Lan available. Nice setup of the lounge rooms. No dining available.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chris1654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turckheim
0.1 km away
Auberge du Brand
Auberge du Brand
#2 of 3 in Turckheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 km away
Les Portes de la Vallee
Les Portes de la Vallee
#3 of 3 in Turckheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.9 km away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
5.4 km away
Hostellerie du Chateau
Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 8 in Eguisheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.9 km away
Les Rives de la Fecht
Les Rives de la Fecht
#1 of 1 in Ingersheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Deux Clefs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Deux Clefs

Property: Hotel Des Deux Clefs
Address: 3 rue du Conseil, 68230 Turckheim, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Turckheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turckheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,309 - ₹ 9,042
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Deux Clefs 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Des Deux Clefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Deux Clefs Turckheim
Des Deux Clefs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing