We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, decent location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, decent location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just completed two nights at Hotel Sangam. Room was spacious if not the most stylish thing out there, bed and bedding very comfortable. WiFi in room is very fast with a stable connection (though you have to pay for it). Food at all meals was excellent (at least the Indian and Chinese options; didn't try any of the Continental cuisine). Grounds very pleasant.

Regarding the construction going on: They were working on the room right next to mine and while I was certainly aware of the work going on due to banging, at least for me it didn't disturb my stay in any way. It started well after I was up in the morning and ended well before going to sleep. Was never so loud that you had to, say, turn up the TV to hear it or talk more loudly on the phone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    122
    62
    18
    11
See reviews for
79
81
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We received a lovely welcome on arrival with cool drinks. We were advised that renovation work was being carried out but it didn't really disturb us. Most pleasing was that the extra bed for our son was already set up in the room without us needing to request it and indeed it was a proper bed rather than a thin mattress on the floor, which we have found to be quite unusual in India. We dined in the restaurant twice. The food was very good but the large, high-ceilinged room lacked ambiance - music might have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Out of no where we've entered the hotel.
It is very simple entrance and room, however everything you need is there.
The room is very spacious and clean, everything you need is in the hotel and in your room.
The staff are very nice, helpfull and knowledgable.
The food is just great and the menue is very diversified.
Our experience in this hotel is very good and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeinaA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Summary
We recommend this hotel. Location, Rooms and Amenities are all very well; hotel caters and hoists mostly to foreign tourist groups. Rooms are spacious and clean. Friendly staff.

Rooms
Really big rooms with safe box and plenty of space for luggage, clothes and your usual travel stuff. A/C perfect, quiet, especially when you are not facing the main road. Autorikshaws can be hired in front of the hotel. No noise from corridors outside.

Bathrooms
Little bit worn out but otherwise very OK.

Pool
Yes, there is a pool. The water has been almost clear, it was warm and just so pure that the bats in the evening started their drinking manoeuvers between us and other tourists; impressive to watch. Very welcome after a long day sightseeing.

Food
Buffet served, all said. Take a la carte, which is better choice and healthier.

But …
Every day from 09:00h until 18:00h the hammer drill was going on. Remember the “little bit worn out” bathrooms. Some of them were under massive renovation, meaning that tiles and walls had to be removed; we guests, too, since it was impossible to stay in the hotel or in the pool from 9 in the morning till to 6 in the evening.
Were we come from, you complain and are helped by the staff or get free meals or else. Not in this hotel. A written excuse is handed over from the receptionist with a smile – that must do. Very interesting, since it gave us the impression that we are stupid milk cows, who are expected to swallow what is served, especially the bitter pill of constant noise. Considering having paid more than 4000INR per room per night, this is not acceptable and management and staff of the hotel get a thumbs down.

Ask the hotel before booking: “Is renovation going on during our stay?”

Booked through Make-My-Trip.

Are we returning? Only after confirmation that no works in progress.

Stayed in April 2012, 2 rooms, 2 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaichgesichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

While staying at the Hotel Sangam in January 2012, a power surge destroyed my camera charger. Due to my limited understanding of such things, I did not realize that this had nothing to do with the hotel and was in no way their fault.

I was quite distraught and although I didn't abuse the staff (I'm happy to say), I think that I was a bit unfair and put them in an awkward position. I insisted on speaking to the General Manager, V.C. Venkatesh. Although I was moving on to another city that day, he made every effort to assist and called me several times on my cell phone. It's a long story and I won't go into all the details, the end result was that with the assistance of a photographer colleague of Mr. Venkatesh's in Madurai, a replacement charger was hand-delivered to me at the next hotel that same evening.

I was incredibly relieved and impressed. I cannot say enough about the commitment to service . . . it was, indeed, "above and beyond." The hotel itself, as a hotel, was fine too.

To say that I was impressed and relieved is an understatement.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.9 km away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 km away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#5 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 km away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#12 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Property: Hotel Sangam
Address: Trichy Road, Thanjavur 613007, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,855 - ₹ 5,332
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sangam 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Yatra, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Tanjore Hotel
Hotel Sangam Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing