We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A very poor Hotel indeed !!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oriental Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oriental Towers
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Thanjavur
Chennai
2 reviews
“A very poor Hotel indeed !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I guess it is a hotel as an after thought after all energies have been spent on the super market and the university offices within the hotel building. The rooms are certainly over priced considering the condition of the rooms and services extended. Torn menu cards apart, the stained linen would certainly greet you during the next meal if you land up at the same table. Dingy restaurant with cockroaches in my child's plate during breakfast. No apology from the staff but they managed to change the plate and get the same stuff a little while after. Plse do not use the laundry for they ensured multicolour stains on my child's trousers. Poor PR from the rude staff at the reception and no way you can reach the higher echelons of the hotel to resolve any issue. Dismal state of the bathrooms with painted bath tubs....Plse do avoid it as plague .....

Room Tip: Plse avoid the hotel unless you have nothing else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugunakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    19
    14
    25
See reviews for
19
17
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our medical team was booked at the PA.L. Residence across the street but decided to come to Thanjavur a day early. It was the time of the Pongal festival, so most hotels were fully booked. We thought we were lucky to find rooms for our group of 5 at the Oriental which was conveniently located across the street. Though it appeared promising on the outside, the accommodations at the Oriental were abysmal.The lobby was enormous, dark and sparsely furnished. The restroom off the lobby was dirty and smelly - no TP as is common in India, so BYO. The elevator was small and creaky. Though there were two elevators, only one was in service and the other didn't seem to be receiving any attention that was likely to bring it back into use anytime soon. Our rooms were dark and dingy. Though two of us shared a double, we were provided only a single towel. Our bathroom had what appeared to be a steel bath tub, but it turned out to be a tub painted gray. My guess that this was done to camouflage the grime in the tub itself. The floor of the tub had a layer of some sort of slime - perhaps soap residue, but I didn't want to inspect too closely to determine what exactly it might be. Suffice it to say, that I did not enter the tub (to shower) without flipflops on for fear of a deadly foot infection. The water was cold. Our room bordered the railroad tracks and we were serendaded by passing trains throughout the night. Though the price was higher than many other places we had stayed while in Tamil Nadu, breakfast was not included in the price of the room. If we would have had any other place to eat, we would have. The food was fair at best and the service indifferent. You are well advised to book almost anywhere else if you plan to stay in Thanjavur.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thanjavur hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Beware before going check with rates what all is included, like service charge, breakfast etc especially people booking by email from overseas(this is verty tricky).The standard of this hotel is SUBSTANDARD and not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVB1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

OK spend a couple of nights, away from the attractions.

Room Tip: As always in India sak to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugCanada2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed for a night in Oct 2011. Room is ok but bathroom subpar. WC with paper only, no hand spray. Lobby is garish and smelly. Entrance is dark and not welcoming. Breakfast restaurant had very stale air and we had to request to open the windows. Breakfast quality was ok, if not for a fly found in my companion's dosa.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhmedabadCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
1.7 km away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#9 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#6 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.2 km away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 23 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.3 km away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#4 of 23 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Balaji Inn
Hotel Balaji Inn
#16 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental Towers

Property: Hotel Oriental Towers
Address: No.2889, Thanjavur 613001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,193 - ₹ 88,491
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oriental Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Oriental Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oriental Towers Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing