We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good locality - casual attitude of staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tamilnadu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thanjavur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Tamilnadu
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Thanjavur
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good locality - casual attitude of staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Two days back i stayed in this Hotel.Rooms are big and spacious.Hotel is near to Big temple and Palace.In my 12 hours stay i didnt even see the room service person, somehave the security person helped in carrying the luggage. Restaurant in the Hotel Tamilnadu opens at 06:30 Hrs ,around 7:00 Hrs you can expect Tea/Coffee.Breakfast is not even ready by 8:15 Hrs.Staff are not tourist friendly.My overall experience is satisfactory.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdsekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel stores a lots and lots of bed bugs. All over the place. And the staff are aware of it. Advice everyone of you not to go there and carry bedbug for free to your home. Also th staff do not care to take your luggage to room. I tried for booking elsewhere and changed my hotel. Advice not to even think of this hotel for any visit else you would carry bedbug with you

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thanjavur hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel has a huge building & very near to Big Temple. Rooms are spacious & decent. They have ample space for car parking. Front office staff are very cooperative. They have a restaurant but not much variety of food. One day you can eat their food. They have a large green garden which gives us a relaxed feeling. Rates are also very reasonable. Only one drawback which comes to my mind is that there are lot of mosquitos. Luckily we had a mosquito repellent with us & it became very useful for us. We stayed for two days & we really enjoyed our stay here. Thanks to Tamilnadu govt for the good maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SujathaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

After the trip to Kumbakonam and surrounding areas , our group decided to stay and visit places in and around thanjavur , We thought we will go in economy mode once we came to thanjavur, so we decided to stay in Hotel Tamilnadu, This is a Institution which is being run by Govt Of Tamilnadu .
The Hotel itself is like a heritage building, must have been built around a half century back, and we were surprised to note that they have recently refurbished the same .
The rooms were very Huge , infact it was so big we thought we could play hide and seek inside the room only, we could comfortable fit into the room.
The place was clean enough , not of very high standards but managable .
Hot water is not available in the nights ( dont know why , did not enquire ) , but very much available in the day .
It is very near to The famous destination in tanjavur, being the big temple, infact it is in walkable distance.
Food was good enough . As we stayed for two days , on the first day we had food here and on the second day we catched the food as and when we travelled .
Over all it was a pleasent experience .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Encouraged by the reviews posted here booked two rooms for my family. The hotel is centrally located and has got a good compund. The rooms are spacious but maintained in a thorughly unprofessional manner. The floor is not clean, furniture outdated with sagging cushion. Bathroom is horrible. service is average. Overall not worth the money thay you pay. Front office was friendly and gave 20% off for my parent's room. ( Senior Citizens). Restaurant is not spacious. Food is o.k.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganrekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#5 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 km away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#10 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#3 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel Balaji Inn
Hotel Balaji Inn
#17 of 23 in Thanjavur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.9 km away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 23 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Victoriyah
Hotel Victoriyah
#8 of 23 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamilnadu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamilnadu

Property: Hotel Tamilnadu
Address: Gandhiji Road | Near Railway Station, Thanjavur 613001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,294 - ₹ 1,770
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamilnadu Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing