We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat & simple place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gnanam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gnanam
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Neat & simple place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great location! Right in the heart of the town. Easy access to the main shopping center. Good vegetarian food. Nice menu.
Rooms are spacious but not first class. Neatness is commendable. Service is above ordinary. but its a crowded place. Even when I visited in April when temperatures were near 40 C, the place was almost full.
Overall nice place for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pick ones on road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reghu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    184
    70
    17
    19
See reviews for
131
130
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Gananam is a business-type hotel in the very middle of Thanjavur's busiest area. The rooms are OK, beds are comfortable. Breakfast was nothing to rave about.
The best part is the location, it is close to all the things why you could possibly come to Thanjavur. They also have 24 hour check-in, so if you want a late check-out, all you have to do is check-in late. (If you - like myself - are wondering what 24 chek-in means - your check-out time will be 24 hours from your check-in)
The worst is a consequence of the busy location, the hotel is extremely noisy, unfortunately as the vast majority of buldings in India, it has zero sound insulation. So if you are a light sleeper, this is not for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Gnanam 3-4 times. everytime the experience was great. staff is good and helfpfull. I would recommend this hotel any time. Rooms are very clean. Room service is also good. Location is also good and in the heart of the city

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deep_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We visited this place during Ugadhi weekend and found it good for a stay of couple of nights. The hotel is clean and rooms were good enough. The a/c needed some repair work as it makes lot of noise. It is very conveniently located, about 1 km from famous Big Temple, , which is the main attraction of Thanjavur and just a couple of hundred meters from bus stand.
The food served is of average quality but very expensive, the buffet breakfast was very good though. Infact we were told that its the costliest hotel (for food) in entire town. There are quite a few options for food if you go around the bus stand. The hotel is short of rooms with a double bed, I think half the rooms have 2 single beds, which makes it uncomfortable for a family with a child to stay.
Overall though the hotel is old, it is clea, serve fairly good food and conveniently located.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deshiashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I travel Tamil nadu on royael enfield. Entering the hotel I saw the most unwelcoming faces, they probably don't like dusty bikers in their clean hotel. Though I was bymyself I asked for double room with big bed. The rooms are clean and lovely but first was with smoke of cigarretes and the other noisy. I asked if they have other rooms and the guy said why don't I try the 5 stars hotel down the road. I was surprised and asked for their price range. The same he answered. It took me 20mins to get to the other hotel which was 5 times more expensive (rs. 8000 vs. 1850)it seemed like he had a private joke on me, making me understand that I get a nice room for a cheaper price. I choose the noisy room over the smoky one and realised that all electricity sockets aren't working. They sent 5 different people to the room, at some point they were all there together....party time.after two hours they gave me a pen to stuck inside the socket so it stand stills. I missed opening time to the temple so I went directly to the Diana restaurant which frankly was tasty. Hello India :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SohoSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thanjavur hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#4 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.4 km away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#10 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.3 km away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.8 km away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 km away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gnanam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gnanam

Property: Hotel Gnanam
Address: Market Road | Thanjavur, Thanjavur 613001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,812 - ₹ 3,466
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gnanam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gnanam combines the charm of the Old World and modern hospitality with every convenience at your fingertips. With the greatest pleasure, we are delighted to extend our hospitality to our guests. Our property will surprise you with its central location, the high comfort, the friendly and professional service. The hotel is dedicated to our guest, looking forward to welcome you to Hotel Gnanam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Gnanam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gnanam Hotel Thanjavur
Hotel Gnanam Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing