We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location - average accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forever Resort Blyde Canyon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forever Resort Blyde Canyon
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location - average accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

The big plus point for the resort is its stunning location literally on the edge of the Blyde River Canyon. The views from our terrace of the Three Rondavels were unbeatable. The resort is beautifully maintained, both the grounds and the accommodation, however, the interiors are very dated and in need of a major modernisation programme. We stayed in the Guest House which was well equipped, beautifully clean and very spacious, but the decor and furnishings were straight out of the 1970s!
Several hiking trails start from the resort and are clearly marked and well maintained. We did the Leopard and Guinea Fowl trails and didn't see a single other person all day. All in all, good value for money, great location and a safe bet, but definitely in need of a facelift.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    71
    55
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
74
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed for one night on our way from Jo´burg to Kruger National Park. We had stayed here a few years ago and found that the chalets had been renovated recently. We opted for one of the "luxury" chalets (LCD2) which one could compare to 3-star accommodation by European standards.
The resort is on the edge of Blyde River Canyon which is worth a visit in its own rights! There are a number of hikes that can be taken from the resort through amazing scenery. An alternative is to ride on horseback (bookings at reception).
The chalet offered a fully equipped kitchen, a bedroom with a double bed and a bathroom with tub and additional shower (you don´t always find a shower in South Africa). Of course, there is a braai outside the chalet.
You will find a pool, playground and trampolines in the resort as well as laundry facilities. There is a restaurant, but we didn´t use it. A small shop provides basic provisions, however if you´re planning to self cater it is best to stock up in one of the larger towns on the way from Jo´burg such as Lydenburg as there are no larger shops close to the resort. A filling station is located just outside the gate.
The weather can be misty sometimes so be prepared for alternative activities.
We found the upgraded chalet very comfortable and would have loved to stay an extra night at the resort. It is an easy drive from Jo´burg as the roads have also been improved and allows one to settle after a long flight from overseas.
On a last note, beware of the baboons and keep doors and windows closed at all times.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Der_Finger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

This resort is on the edge (literally) of the Blyde River Canyon, a fantastic natural wonder en route from Johannesburg to Kruger but little known outside South Africa. The resort provides a prime viewpoint over the Three Rondavels, a fantastic natural rock formation (Google it now to see what you are missing). There are waterfalls, gorges, ravines at Bourke's Potholes and viewpoints over the plains with great names like God's Window.
It's a beautiful area, worth a journey in its own right never mind a stopover.

The resort is typical of what people seem to like in South Africa - a large village of rustic stone chalets (about 100 of them) each with its own braai. Initially, we were allocated one near the top road of the resort - the chalets here seemed crammed together and the interior pretty basic. For us, the experience of being somewhere so beautiful is tempered by staying somewhere so ordinary. So we opted for an upgrade to a "luxury" chalet nearer the restaurant in a quieter part of the resort. The chalet layout was similar but the furnishings newer and a bit less basic. Even so, the bed cover could have done with a good wash.

We ate at the restaurant which was a pleasant enough buffet affair (R100 per adult) with a mixture of dishes, though at dinner it seemed like no-one had thought about whether they actually went together. On the second night, our wine arrived just as we had finished our main course. Breakfast was OK, though tinned not fresh fruit was symptomatic of the place as a whole. We did mention this to the manager and to her credit some fresh fruit did appear the next day.

We enjoyed the mini-golf and trampolines, and our son thought the place was great. DIY laundry facilties were a boon and helped us avoid expensive hotel laundry bills.

In summary, so-so accommodation but lots to do and the canyon, not the resort , will be your abiding memory.

  • Liked — The breathtaking views of the canyon at sunset
  • Disliked — Rather too rustic chalets
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2007

Large resort situated on the rim of the Blyde River Canyon. We stayed in a one bed chalet. There was a kitchen and a bathroom with a shower. The accommodation was clean and tidy but the decor was very dated. We self catered although there was a restaurant on site with the usual buffet options.

There are wonderful views of the Blyde River Canyon -which is the 3rd largest canyon in the world. There are several marked trails to explore the area.

The Camp has a swimming pool that we did not use as it was not really the weather to swim in. People we met later stayed after us and did not see the canyon at all due to heavy mist and rain. We were lucky and explored the surrounding areas. To say the least it's an isolated place.

The provisions in the Resort shop are rather basic and alcohol is only available from the bottle store just outside the camp. Remember all bottle stores in South Africa are shut on Sundays. The only Internet access is by using the PC used by the reservation manager between 18.00 and 20.00. The dial up access is very slow and virtually unusable for sorting out the next keg of your holiday. like most of South Africa the place shuts up by 21.00

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UKOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

We stayed in this place for one night because Idube Game Reserve was booked out that night. The accommodation is adequate, probably about 2-star by western standards, one of the challets did not have electricity in the bathroom so our friends had to utilise our spare candles. However, the place is super clean, beds comfortable, interior a little dated. The best thing about it is breakfast and the room which has a splendid view (see attached photo). The sign on your door will tell you to close your windows to avoid monkeys and baboons, do so, they are everywhere! Make sure you go up to the Academy, in the hotel grounds, and walk up to see the most amazing, out of this world view of the canyon and the three roundabouts rotunda type mountain formations.

  • Liked — The views from the breakifast room, excellent things to see all in the hotel grounds
  • Disliked — small cockroach in the kitchen (although didn't see any elsewhere), sporadic electricity supply
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
40.0 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
36.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
44.8 km away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
39.3 km away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
9.1 km away
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
#21 of 99 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forever Resort Blyde Canyon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forever Resort Blyde Canyon

Property: Forever Resort Blyde Canyon
Address: R535 Graskop | Private Bag X405, Graskop 1270, South Africa (Formerly Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Hotel Class:3 star — Forever Resort Blyde Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort Hotel Graskop
Forever Resort Blyde Canyon Graskop, Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing